Research Guides: *Nursing: Find Articles

On this page you'll find the databases we recommend for articles on nursing topics. Depending on your specific project, you may find certain resources more relevant than others.

Recommended Subject Databases

CINAHL with Full Text
Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users
ClinicalTrials.gov
Current information about clinical research studies. Database provides patients, healthcare professionals, researchers and public with access to publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Find and view studies, learn about clinical research, manage study records, view statistics and download study records for analysis.
Embase
Embase (the Excerpta Medica database) is known for its extensive coverage of drug and biomedical literature; selective coverage of dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, and psychology; emphasis on Evidence Based Medicine; medical devices. Most Medline records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well over 5 million records not covered on Medline.
eMedicine
A clinical reference tool that contains articles on over 7000 diseases and disorders written and edited by physicians. Each article is peer-reviewed by physicians and a PharmD before it is published; Also provides practice guidelines, images, & references; Updated regularly. From WebMD.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources. It is intended for informational purposes only. [Can limit search to full-text and peer-reviewed.]
Lexicomp Online
A collection of databases and modules. Includes: adult and pediatric, drug ID, toxicology, patient information, calculators, international drugs, I.V. compatibility, diseases, etc.
Log out, switch browsers, or clear your browser's cache before switching to Lexicomp Online for Dentistry
Databases and Modules include: •Lexi-Drugs •AHFS Essentials (Adult & Pediatric) •AHFS DI (Adult & Pediatric) •Lexi-Drugs International •Pediatric & Neonatal Lexi-Drugs •Geriatric Lexi-Drugs •Lexi-Natural Products •Lexi-Pharmacogenomics •Lexi-Infectious Diseases •Lexi-Lab & Diagnostic Procedures •Drug & herbal interaction analysis (Lexi-Interact) •Identification of solid, oral drugs (Lexi-Drug ID) •Comprehensive medical calculations (Lexi-CALC) Trissel's IV (Lexi-IV Compatability) •Patient Education Module •Medical Internet search portal (Web Search) •Toxicology module (Lexi-Tox)
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. [Can limit search to full-text and peer-reviewed.]
Medline (via Ovid)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Bibliographic database of over 21 million citations to the literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences, biomedicine, and health care; International in scope; Abstracts included in 75% of the records; (mid 1960's+) Hint: Search both Embase and Medline to improve drug topic results. No additional username or password needed unless you want to save a search! Also available through PubMed.
PubMed (MCPHS link)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Center (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.

Resources for Nurses

Allnurses.com
Various nursing related links and categories; discussion boards; news, etc.
Nursing Center
A portal to continuing education activities, journal articles, news, conferences, drug updates, etc. Sponsored by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.

Resources About Evidence-Based Research

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): EPC Evidence-based Reports
"These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. EPCs also produce technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports."
Evidence-based Medicine
Useful information about evidence-based medicine. Created by the University of Illinois at Chicago.
National Institute of Nursing Research
Supports clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals; provides grants to universities and other research organizations; conducts research intramurally at laboratories in Bethesda, Maryland. Part of the NIH.
McGill University Health Center -- Nursing
Resources related to the process of evidence-based practice. From the Health Sciences Library at McMaster University.
Methods Documents
Brief tips for different methods of analyzing research evidence. From University of Pennsylvania.

Practice Getting from a Citation to a Full-Text Article
Librarian-on-Your-Shoulder Tutorial

Remember to Ask Yourself:

Trust It or Trash It

Tutorials

AJN's Evidence-Based Practice Series: Step by Step
This collection of articles is from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. The purpose of this series is to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.
Evidence Based Practice Tutorial
Useful information about evidence-based medicine. Created by the University of Illinois at Chicago.
Search Strategies in Ovid for: Medline, Cinahl, and PsycInfo

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Connect Google Scholar and the MCPHS Libraries to get to the full-text articles you find. Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!

Set Up Google Scholar & MCPHS Libraries:

Click on Settings in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
Choose Library Links on the left, search for MCPHS.
Select MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS).
Click the blue Save button.
That's it!

Next time you're searching, look for the MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS). link next to each search result.

Don't see it? Click on more underneath the result.

*Nursing

A Second Password

PDF vs. Get Full Text