"The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), founded in 1902, is the world’s oldest international public health agency. It provides technical cooperation and mobilizes partnerships to improve health and quality of life in the countries of the Americas."
"WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends."
See general overviews of several important health topics. The initial bullet-pointed overview page provides key statistics, specific findings about that topic, flyers and other promotional materials, and links to more resources. Click on links in any section of that overview page to reach more detailed information. Created by the CDC's Community Preventive Services Task Force.
See instructions for each step in the community health mapping project. Each one includes information about low-cost tools you can use. By Bird's Eye View. Originally developed in collaboration with the NLM.
Read brief biographies of some notable people in Public Health and other disciplines. Read digitized versions of some of their correspondence and work. Also see a small collection of public health posters from before 2003. From the National Library of Medicine.
Look up terms you might come across in public health laws. These definitions are written for the average person; you do not need to be a lawyer to understand them. From the Public Health Law Center at Mitchell Hamline School of Law.
This site combines an online legal dictionary with thematic groupings of encyclopedia entries. Browse if you want the definition of a legal term. Click "Articles" to browse themes or search for a theme to find encyclopedia entries. Ignore the broken search box at the top of the website. Instead, click the word "Search" and use the search box that appears in the main part of the page. From the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University, with contributions from many other legal experts.
Search for a specific legal term to access a definition and brief information about its origins. You can also look up non-legal terms in the dictionary. For example, you can look up both tort [legal term] and torte [regular word].
The National Library of Medicine has pulled together many different resources related to the opioid epidemic in the U.S. Read background information about addiction, medicinal use of opiates, and more. Use the ready-made PubMed searches to find recent articles on different aspects of the opioid crisis.