Research Guides: Health Information Resources for the Catholic University of Santa Maria (UCSM): Full-Text eBooks

Image

Image via AlbertoG/Flickr

Open-Access eBooks

The following list contains access to textbooks, health guides, case studies, and more in-depth subject guides.

BC Open Textbook Project
Open textbooks sponsored by the government of British Columbia, Canada to support secondary education. Browse by subject area or search.
BookBoon health science textbooks
BookBoon’s free collection of textbooks includes Introduction to Clinical Biochemistry and Pharmacokinetics, as well as some basic statistics textbooks. To download the .PDF, an email address is required.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB), health sciences category
DOAB aggregates links to open-access books from various publishers. All titles are peer-reviewed before publication. While the list for the health sciences is currently small, new eBooks are added regularly. Currently, most titles are only available in German.
FreeBooks4Doctors.com (FB4D)
Another resource that aggregates free full-text eBooks, FB4D has a much larger collection than other sources. Many titles are available in .PDF format. While most textbooks are available in English only, some are available in Spanish.
Hesperian Health Guides
Hesperian provides eBooks and documents for public health in the developing world. Publications of interest include Helping Health Workers Learn and Where There Is No Doctor. Spanish resources.
InTech OA health science books
InTech provides over 600 high-quality open-access, peer-reviewed health science eBooks. All eBooks are available for download in .PDF format. Individual chapters of each eBook are also available for download as well.
Life In the Fast Lane (LITFL) case studies
LITFL provides numerous free clinical case studies for educational purposes.
Life In the Fast Lane (LITFL) eBooks
LITFL provides free medical textbooks and other materials. Titles in the eBook collection include Intensive Care Drug Manual and Emergency Medicine Diagnosis and Management.
Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF) eBook collections
MSF provides medical reference eBooks in English, Spanish, and French, including Essential Drugs and Clinical Guidelines.

MedEdPortal
MedEdPORTAL, provided through the Association of American Medical Colleges, contains open-access peer-reviewed publications on many topics. Besides eBooks, the collection contains audio, course documents, and case studies. Use the bar on the right to browse the materials. A free registration is required to access the materials.

The Merck Manual for Health Professionals
The Merck Manual is a standard resource for any medical practitioner. The full text of the latest edition is available online. Although it is not available as a .PDF download, the sections are subdivided for easy browsing and bookmarking.
NCBI Bookshelf
Disciplines: Clinical Medicine, Evidence-Based Practice, Health Sciences, Nursing, Pharmacy and Drug Information, Science
Contents: A collection of free biomedical books from the National Center for Biotechnology Information. *Some publishers will only allow you to search within the book.
- Unlimited users
OpenStax textbooks
A provider of free, open-source, peer-reviewed textbooks, OpenStax publishes college-level materials on life science topics. Biology is currently available, and Anatomy and Physiology will be forthcoming.
Scielo Livros (Scientific Electronic Library Livros)
Busca su tema. Elige el accesso abierto. Leyó libros de muchos países.
SUNY Open Textbooks
Free textbooks from the State University of New York system.

eBook Downloads

Evidence-Based Practice Workbook
From the University of Melbourne, this workbook is a guide through a course on using EBM practices.

Google Books Search

Although some free full-text books are digitized through Google Books, many are not. Try searching for a title in WorldCat if it is not available online in case it is available at a library near you.