*Pharmacy

With the increasing use of compounded prescriptions, practitioners need to answer the question, "What is the stability of this preparation after it is compounded?" Trissel's™ Stability of Compounded Formulations is the only book in print that compiles all currently available stability information on drugs in compounded oral, enteral, topical, ophthalmic, and other specialized preparations. Based on data published over the past 60 years, the reference summarizes specific formulations and stability studies. It helps readers (a) determine whether formulated compounds will be stable for the anticipated duration of use, (b) properly store and repackage compounded formulations and some commercial products, (c) formulate in accordance with documented standards, and (d) counsel patients on the use and storage of compounded medications. Key Features: Monographs on 571 products-including 61 new monographs and 163 monographs updated from the previous edition-arranged alphabetically by nonproprietary name Each monograph organized into three easy-to-use categories: Properties, General Stability Considerations, and Stability Reports of Compounded Preparations, including repackaging information Fourth and fifth categories included where information is available: Compatibility with Other Drugs and Compatibility with Common Beverages and Foods Summaries from 2,043 published articles and books, including 329 new to this edition Index of nonproprietary and brand names

For more than 40 years ASHP has published the most trusted resource for injectable drug information. Our new ASHP® Injectable Drug Information now delivers the same high-quality content that you can expect from ASHP with even more of the information you need to make decisive patient care decisions. The 2023 edition of the industry's go-to guide is newly updated with the latest information, the full list of the AHFS® Pharmacologic-Therapeutic Classification© system, multiple new monographs, and nearly 200 new references for a total of over 24,000 total compatibility pairs. ASHP® Injectable Drug Information™ 2023 features more than 400 monographs, including: Brexanolone Cefiderocol sulfate tosylate Oritavancin Oliceridine fumarate Remdesivir Remimazolam besylate Sildenafil citrate

4th ed.
*Print copy

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023!  A Practical Guide to Contemporary Pharmacy Practice and Compounding is your hands-on, step-by-step guide to receiving and filling prescription drug orders as well as a comprehensive look at the preparation of sterile and non-sterile extemporaneously compounded preparations. This edition is meticulously updated to include the latest practice guidelines and standards, as well as a detailed discussion of the Drug Quality and Security Act (DQSA) of 2013. In addition, it offers a wealth of guidance on processing prescriptions, avoiding dangerous medication and labeling errors, counseling patients and caregivers, and much more - giving you all the knowledge you need to succeed on your exams and safely carry out the practice of pharmacy. Features significant revisions to address the impact of new federal laws/regulations on pharmacy practice. Includes meticulous updates reflecting the latest advances in "formulation science." Includes an expanded list of definitions addressing the interchangeable terminologies that arise due to the emergence of interprofessional education and practice. Offers an expanded discussion on avoiding medication and labeling errors, patient counseling at hospital discharge, sterile dosage form preparation, and much more. Includes updated information about newly approved excipients and manufacturers. Includes a new section on the passage of the DQSA, which amended the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, making a distinction between 503A compounding pharmacies, the traditional prescription-based compounding pharmacies, and 503B outsourcing facilities. Contains all-new photos that clearly illustrate all equipment, materials, and techniques.

The Art, Science, and Technology of Pharmaceutical Compounding, 6th Edition has been completely revised and covers all aspects of pharmaceutical compounding. Featured are the regulations,technology, scientific foundation, and clinical consulting aspects of the dosage forms that can be compounded. It also contains example formulas for all dosage forms along with the ingredients, quantities, use of each ingredient, and instructions for preparation. In addition to formulation development including flavoring, sweetening, preservation and compliance and compatibility considerations, quality control and areas of potential errors are also presented. More than ever, there is a need for a practical compounding reference that integrates the science and practice of compounding while emphasizing the need for caution, innovation, and patient counseling. KEY FEATURES: Covers all aspects of nonsterile and sterile as well as nonhazardous and hazardous compounding. Blends the scientific and technologic aspects of compounding to support an understanding of the importance of each compounded dosage form. Presents different technologies for compounding various dosage forms, as well as example. Formulations for all dosage forms presented in the book. Features an entirely new chapter emphasizing the pharmacist's role in addressing incompatibilities and their potential clinical effects.

Since its first publication, Extemporaneous Formulations has been the go-to guide for treating patients who require medications that are not commercially available in appropriate forms or dosages for pediatric, geriatric, or special needs. Now even more comprehensive, the fourth edition provides the same evidence-based formulation in easy-to-follow ""recipes"" for 312 formulations, 129 of which are new. Each ""recipe"" includes: Ingredients Preparation details and instructions Storage conditions Special instructions Alternatives Expiration dates References Documented stability data An invaluable resource for practitioners, Extemporaneous Formulations also includes a list of standardized concentrations for compounded oral liquids from ASHP's Standardize 4 Safety initiative. Compiled by experts in the field, it's the best guidance you can get for the care you want to give.

ScienceDirect
Unlimited users

11th ed.