Research Guides: Finding Research and Review Articles: Find Articles

Recommended Databases for Nursing Research & Review Articles

CINAHL with Full Text
The new CINAHL site is now live. Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users
PubMed (MCPHS link)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.
Embase
Embase (the Excerpta Medica database) is known for its extensive coverage of drug and biomedical literature; selective coverage of dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, and psychology; emphasis on Evidence Based Medicine; medical devices. Most Medline records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well over 5 million records not covered on Medline.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. [Can limit search to full-text and peer-reviewed.]
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources. It is intended for informational purposes only. [Can limit search to full-text and peer-reviewed.]

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Connect Google Scholar and the MCPHS Libraries to get to the full-text articles you find. Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!

Set Up Google Scholar & MCPHS Libraries:

Click on Settings in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
Choose Library Links on the left, search for MCPHS.
Select MCPHS Libraries -
Click the blue Save button.
That's it!

Next time you're searching, look for the Get Full-Text link next to each search result.

Don't see it? Click on more underneath the result.

Tutorials

AJN's Evidence-Based Practice Series: Step by Step
This collection of articles is from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. The purpose of this series is to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.
Evidence Based Practice Tutorial
Useful information about evidence-based medicine. Created by the University of Illinois at Chicago.
Search Strategies in Ovid for: Medline, Cinahl, and PsycInfo

Finding Research and Review Articles

A Second Password

For some resources you'll need your regular MCPHS username and password AND a second password. You'll get to that second password by clicking on the lock.

PDF vs. Find Full-Text

Recommended Databases for Nursing Research & Review Articles

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Tutorials