Research Guides: Best Practices in Caring for the Deaf Patient: Reference Resources

Recommended Databases for Research

AltHealthWatch
The new AltHealthWatch is now live. This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine Database)
The new AMED site is now live. AMED provides an alternative medicine database to learn more about alternative treatments. It contains basic bibliographic records for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European. AMED is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.
CINAHL with Full Text
The new CINAHL site is now live. Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users
Nexis Uni
Find find legal information, specifics about a company, and news from around the world.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect has thousands of journals and books on a range of science topics. MCPHS has access to the majority of the journals and some of the books. You can find information about health sciences, biology, chemistry, and physics, and more. You can also find some content about humanities and social sciences.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. Limited full-text available.
Social Sciences Full Text
The new Social Sciences Full Text site is now live. A broad collection of articles in social sciences disciplines, such as communications, ethics, gender studies, law, psychology. Find information about theories and methods. Full-text articles are available as far back as 1972, but most are from the 1990s or 2000s.
TRIP Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence it also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. Full-text might be available. Registration is free.

Searching

Use the following keywords in a keyword (AND, OR, NOT) search:

clubs AND deaf
culture AND deaf
deafness AND "social aspects"
"social environment" AND deaf
"social psychology" AND deaf
"united states" AND deaf AND history

To find more specific aspects of ASL, try adding a word for that aspect to your Keyword (AND/OR/NOT) search. Some examples are:

"american sign language" AND communication
"american sign language" AND children AND deaf
"american sign language" AND education AND deaf
"american sign language" AND history

Other Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Learn about human anatomy through these short videos about different body parts. The body parts shown are only lightly preserved; see full color and textures. Sign up for a free account to quiz yourself.
DynaMed
Find quick overviews of different conditions in this evidence-based point-of-care clinical decision support system and reference tool. Summaries include drug information from Micromedex and images. The site automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. You can also download the "Free to MCPHS users" app.