Research Guides: *Dental Hygiene: Get Started

Welcome

Welcome to the Dental Hygiene Research Guide! This Research Guide is a mini-universe of resources designed to support your academic work in dental hygiene so you can quickly access the resources you need.
If you don't find what you're looking for or have any questions, contact your librarian!

What Do You Need To Do?

Learn to Search: Refresh your research skills and learn tips and tricks on how to search effectively
Find Sources: Find resources we recommend for dental hygiene
Evaluate Sources: Learn how to evaluate your search results and the sources you choose to use
Literature Reviews: Takes you to a whole guide on literature reviews! Defining different types, search strategies, and tutorials.
EBM in Dental Hygiene: Takes you to a whole guide on EBM! Definitions, databases organized by levels of evidence, PICO and other search strategies, and tutorials.
Cite & Organize Sources: Cite and organize your sources

Best Bets

Need to get started fast? The following are some of our best bets, or most frequently used resources:

PubMed (MCPHS link)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.

CDC: Oral Health
Looking for the dental goals in Healthy People? Need to find statistics on fluoridation in the U.S.? This is the place to go! The CDC's Division of Oral Health works to improve the oral health of the nation & reduce inequalities in oral health, & produces important research & reports on dental health.
Zotero: Citation Manager
Go directly to the MCPHS Guide to Zotero - how to set up your account and integrate the tool into your search process.

Professional Associations

Massachusetts Dental Hygienists Association (MDHA)
State organization of dental hygienists focused on public health and access to oral health care, and advocacy for dental hygiene education, licensure, and practice.
American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)
National organization represented the professional interests of dental hygienists, and offering resources that support continuing education, advocacy, and research. Includes the Institute for Oral Health Foundation to advance research.
International Federation of Dental Hygienists
IFDH is an international, nongovernmental, nonprofit organization, uniting dental hygiene associations from around the world in their common cause of promoting dental health.
The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA)
Facilitates the licensure process for dental professionals. Check here for information on when & where state board clinical examinations are given.
American Dental Education Association
ADEA serves the allied, predoctoral, & postdoctoral dental education community, providing advocacy, professional development, & expert information & resources on education, research, & the delivery of oral health care for the improvement of public health.
American Association of Public Health Dentistry
Founded in 1937, the AAPHD develops and supports oral health promotion and disease prevention programs.
American Dental Association (ADA)
National organization that supports the advancement of public oral health, advocates for dentistry, offers professional education and resources.
Other Dental Organizations
A curated list of links to several dental / oral health organizations. From the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry.

Studying & Teaching Websites

Dental Wisdom
Includes some patient teaching aids and flash format anatomy for dental professionals; Constructed by Dr. S.J. Nangle.
Dental Care: Student & Faculty Resources
Read case studies, test your skills, and more. Sponsored by Proctor & Gamble (Crest and OralB).
DH Links for Websurfing
An extensive list of Dental Hygiene related links compiled by Margaret J. Fehrenbach, RDH, MS. This site uses http, not https.
Student Cases for Dental Hygiene Education
A list of over 200 web sites of student case materials from Margaret J. Fehrenbach, RDH, MS.

*Dental Hygiene

Your Librarian