Research Guides: *Health Sciences: Find Sources

What's On This Page?

On this page you'll find databases, books, web resources, and other resources we recommend to find information on health sciences. We have organized the resources on this page by type & the kind of information you'll find in them. Depending on your specific project, you may find some resources more useful than others.

Databases: for Scholarly Articles

PubMed (MCPHS link)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.
CINAHL with Full Text
The new CINAHL site is now live. Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users
PsycInfo (APA)
An electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. About 99% of the journals in the database are peer-reviewed, dating from the early 1800s to the present.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. Limited full-text available. [Free to MCPHS users download mobile app for your mobile device.]
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
A free government-sponsored database on education that includes current research on education as well as government documents; majority is peer-reviewed; some full-text; sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education. (1966+)
Google Scholar (MCPHS Link)
Access our electronic journals through links in the Google Scholar search results pages from both on-campus and off-campus. Click the Get Full Text (MCPHS) button to see if we have the full-text article or you can request it through interlibrary loan.
This link now automatically shows MCPHS's "Get Full Text" links to connect you to library content.
You can also set GoogleScholar up to work with a citation manager:
•Go to https://scholar.google.com. •Depending on your screen size, you may need to click More. •Click on Settings. •Scroll down to Bibliography Manager. Select Show links to import citations into .... •Choose the citation manager you use. •Save your changes.

Websites: Health Data & Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
Health datasets from the U.S. Government's own health surveys. These surveys are repeated regularly. Learn about health behaviors, nutrition, hospital care, births and deaths, and more.
National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS)
Find data and statistics by topic including alcohol use, life expectancy, oral health, etc.
National Public Health Data Resources
Maintained by the New York Department of Health, this is a list of public health resources and datasets.
Boston by the Numbers (BPLC)
Reports, briefs, datasets, presentations and on population health in the City of Boston.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
Search or select a state and a county to get a summary report of the health in that community. Data comes from multiple sources. Counties are ranked by "Health Outcomes" (actual health status) and by "Health Factors" (anything that affects health outcomes). Click on a specific item to see the source of that data. From the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Global Health Observation (WHO)
Health data that can be explored by indicator (topic) or country.
Health-Related Statistics Research Guide
A comprehensive MCPHS Research Guide of statistics resources (not limited to health).

Books: In-depth Information on a Topic/Method

Course Reserves
Updated each semester and arranged by course, these are faculty provided lists of required and recommended eBooks.
MCPHS Smart Search
Smart Search is a great way to search for ebooks - use the book title or author's last name as your keyword.
eBooks
Learn more about the different ebook collections at MCPHS, and how to access them.

Get Your Source

Looking for the full text? Either of the following symbols will take you to the full text of your item:

PDF or Get Full Text (MCPHS)

If the item you want is not available directly from MCPHS:

Check to see if the item is freely available online. Use the links in the "Try to get a free / open access version" section.
Is the item you are searching for not in our collections and not freely available online? Book chapters and articles not available from MCPHS’ print and digital collections can often be obtained from other libraries via our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Requests for Interlibrary Loans can be made by submitting this form, or by accessing the “Get Full Text” links from citations available from our databases. This service is provided for MCPHS faculty, staff, and students only.