It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide explores the principles and practices of open access (OA), how to find OA materials, publish your own research as open access, and what to be aware of as you navigate OA.
Add Unpaywall to your browser. It will automatically check if there is an open access version of the article you want. The open access version may be the author's manuscript or a preprint version instead of the final published version.
Unpaywall's data is also built into a couple of the library's systems. LibKey Nomad combines data from Unpaywall with data from the library's own collection. The Get Full Text (MCPHS) button also displays Unpaywall links if an open access version of the article is available.
ROAD synthesizes information about open access journals from a number of sources. Its base is a subset of the ISSN registry. Users may browse to find open access journals by country or by subject. Users may also search for an open access title by name, ISSN number, subject, or other concept.
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) contains over 8,000 open access journals of varying quality and open access policies that scholars can search and browse through to find the best suited open access journal for their own work. These journals are not all specifically related to bio or health sciences.
PubMed Central is maintained by the National Institute of Health and is a very reliable and safe way to make academic work open access, although researchers allowed to deposit their work are limited to a specific community. Additionally, researchers using NIH funding are legally required to deposit their work into PubMed Central.
arXiv.org is maintained by Cornell University and serves as an online open-access despository for the sciences. This is an OA option for MCPHS faculty publishing research in: Biomolecules Cell Behavior, Genomics, Molecular Networks Neurons and Cognition, Other Quantitative Biology, Populations and Evolution Quantitative Methods, Subcellular Processes, Tissues and Organs. arXiv.org is a fairly reliable OA depository, however, it is much less credible than publishing through an OA journal or PubMed. To submit manuscripts you will need to register with arXiv by submitting your email address and creating a username and password.
Stay current in biology research, including research in medicine. Find articles here before they go through the normal publishing process. Search by topic or by date. To submit manuscripts you will need to register with bioRxiv by submitting your email address and creating a username and password. BioRxiv is modeled after arXiv and is maintained by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a non-profit educational organization.
This new system lets authors share their manuscripts in health sciences topics before they are officially accepted for publication in a journal. Submissions go through basic review for scientific integrity before posting. From Yale University, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, and BMJ.
Find open access theses and dissertations on many different subjects. Anyone can read these dissertations and theses without paying a fee. Some authors have asked that the full-text of their work only become freely available after a certain time. You will only see the abstract for those authors' works during that time period. From ProQuest.
Find open access dissertations and theses from across the world. Search on OATD and click on the link provided to find the full-text at the author's institution or in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. You may see some results that are not yet available as full-text. Some authors have asked that the full-text of their work only become freely available after a period of time. Unfortunately, OATD does not mark these results in any way. You will only see the message when you click on the link. From OATD.org and hosted by Wake Forest University.
Search for free textbooks in your discipline and read reviews of them. The site links to the (external) online version of the textbook and to options for downloading the book. Read, re-use, and adapt the textbooks. From the Center for Open Education at the University of Minnesota and the Open Education Network.
A collection of digitized historical books from the University of Oxford. According to their home page, "The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning." Download the files in several different formats, including html, ePub, and text.
Use this site to find data storage sites that are relevant to your interests. Search for a data repository by name or keyword. Browse for data repositories by subject, data format, and / or country. Each repository listed has a short description. Icons show if the repository has general information, is open access, has licenses, has persistent identifiers, has certificates and standards, and has policies. From Re3Data.org Project Consortium.
Publications, presentations, curricula, and more about health science topics. From the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC). You must create a free personal AAMC account to download the materials. Some materials are only available to faculty members. You must request permission to download those items.