Research Guides: *Optometry: Find Sources

What's On This Page?

On this page you'll find databases, books, web resources, and other resources we recommend to find information on optometry. We have organized the resources on this page by OPT course number. Depending on your specific project, you may find some resources more useful than others.

Multiple Book Sources

OPT Course Reserves
Here you will find the School of Optometry course books that the Library was able to purchase as e-books or in print.

Multiple Course Sources

AMA Manual of Style by Stacy Christiansen (Editor) and co-editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780190246587

OPT 810 Integrative Seminar

DynaMed
Find quick overviews of different conditions in this evidence-based point-of-care clinical decision support system and reference tool. Summaries include drug information from Micromedex and images. The site automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. You can also download the "Free to MCPHS users" app.

OPT 860 Research & Statisticl Methods

PubMed (MCPHS link)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Center (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. Limited full-text available. [Free to MCPHS users download mobile app for your mobile device.]
Google Scholar (MCPHS Link)
Access our electronic journals through links in the Google Scholar search results pages from both on-campus and off-campus. Click the Get Full Text (MCPHS) button to see if we have the full-text article or you can request it through interlibrary loan.
This link now automatically shows MCPHS's "Get Full Text" links to connect you to library content.
You can also set GoogleScholar up to work with a citation manager:
•Go to https://scholar.google.com. •Depending on your screen size, you may need to click More. •Click on Settings. •Scroll down to Bibliography Manager. Select Show links to import citations into .... •Choose the citation manager you use. •Save your changes.

Get Your Source

Looking for the full text? Either of the following symbols will take you to the full text of your item:

PDF or Get Full Text (MCPHS)

If the item you want is not available directly from MCPHS:

Check to see if the item is freely available online. Use the links in the "Try to get a free / open access version" section.
Is the item you are searching for not in our collections and not freely available online? Book chapters and articles not available from MCPHS’ print and digital collections can often be obtained from other libraries via our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Requests for Interlibrary Loans can be made by submitting this form, or by accessing the “Get Full Text” links from citations available from our databases. This service is provided for MCPHS faculty, staff, and students only.