Research Guides: Streaming Videos: Streaming Video Collections

Streaming Videos

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Thousands of videos across many disciplines. Includes documentaries, lectures, biographies, demonstrations, and more. Includes some dramas. Producers include BBC, PBS, Sony Pictures Classics, and others. Watch the film and access the transcript.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Health Sciences
Learn about human anatomy through these short videos about different body parts. The body parts shown are only lightly preserved; see full color and textures. Sign up for a free account to quiz yourself.

AHRQ YouTube Channels
The YouTube section has a series of brief videos about health topics, including Patient Safety, Health IT, and Effectiveness. Health care providers and patients will both find these free videos useful. Subscribe to each YouTube channel to know when new videos are added. Provided by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology (JoVE)
Watch short videos about basic techniques for biology. Videos have transcripts so that you can read instead of listening to the sound.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE's
Watch short videos on examining and interviewing a patient. Watch the video right in your browser - no extra software required! The videos have closed captioning you can use on most devices (exceptions are iPhones and, when you are in full video mode, iPads.)

Dax's Case (Alexander Street Press)
One streaming video about ethics when treating patients.
The video may not appear to load at first. Press play anyways.

Digital Campus
Watch feature films on many topics. You will only see films that MCPHS has currently licensed. Faculty members: Visit https://www.swank.com/digital-campus/ to see a list of films the library could license for a semester or longer.
Docuseek
Watch streaming videos MCPHS has ordered and preview up to 10 minutes of videos MCPHS has not ordered. Click "MyMovies" for a list of the titles MCPHS has ordered.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)
Streaming videos. Learn about diseases, conditions, or health information. Watch The Harvest of Loneliness.
General Laboratory Techniques (JoVE)
Watch short videos about basic techniques and equipment you will use in the chemistry and biology laboratory. Videos have transcripts so that you can read instead of listening to the sound.
JoVE Science Education Databases
Video collections about science topics
Includes:
General Laboratory Techniques
Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology
Lab Animal Research
Microbiology Collection
Additional databases to which MCPHS does not subscribe
Kanopy Streaming Videos
Watch videos from well-known publishers. The library has purchased several titles, particularly classic films. Note: This site also shows many titles MCPHS does not have. You can watch trailers for some videos.
Lab Animal Research (JoVE)
Watch short videos about handling animals in the laboratory. Videos have transcripts so that you can read instead of listening to the sound.

Additional Streaming Videos from Authoritative Sources

Many publishers now include videos and other media along with regular articles. Most of these resources are freely available.

Annals of internal Medicine YouTube Channel
A mix of brief. topic-based videos and longer recordings from American College of Physicians meetings. From American College of Physicians.
Annals of Internal Medicine Multimedia
Videos, images, and podcasts from the American College of Physicians.
British Medical Journal's Multimedia
Streaming video hub for a range of topics published by the British Medical Journal's media team. Includes links to channels for: Evidence Based Mental Health, Neruoscience, Sports Medicine and heart health.
Cell Press Videos
Explore this video archive and stream videos relevant to health sciences research in areas such as biology, chemistry, genetics, cell function, diagnostics, pharmacology, public health and much more.
JAMA: The Journal of the Medical Association Multimedia
A gateway portal to multimedia associated with JAMA and its sub-categories including but not limited to Cardiology, Dermatology, Surgery, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Internal Medicine. Multimedia includes interactive models and tables, videos, author interviews, and summaries from JAMA editors.
Journal of the American College of Cardiology Videos
JACC's Youtube channel features steaming video and a link to their channel promoting cardiovascular public health: CardioSmart.
JoVE YouTube
JoVE (The Journal of Visualized Experiments) is posting a limited number of its videos freely on YouTube. These videos come from all parts of JoVE's content, even sections the libraries do not subscribe to. For example, find videos on Immunology & Infection, Bioengineering, and Neuroscience. Videos range in length from a few minutes to about 20 minutes. New videos are added every Tuesday and Thursday.
The Lancet: multimedia
Explore the multimedia of this popular medical journal. Stream current videos, listen to audio, read daily morning reports, see info graphics and use picture quizzes to test your diagnostic capabilities!
Nature Health Videos
This playlist has short videos about recent or high-interest health topics, such as Ebola, depression, and HIV. From Nature Publishing Group.
Nature Videos
Watch videos on a number of topics from the journal Nature and related publications. Topics include health, climate, technology, and more. From Nature Publishing Group.
New England Journal of Medicine Media
New England Journal of medicine provides multiple options for viewing, listening, and interacting. Some of this content is freely available and some of it is only available to subscribers. Stream videos of clinical procedures or perspective round tables regarding emergent policy, access their Youtube link, view and download power points and images, test your diagnostic skills with image quizzes, or listen to audio recordings of articles.
Science Magazine's Video Lab
Explore various videos in the discipline of science. Categories to note are: anatomy, chemistry, genetics, virology, imaging and many more.