Research Guides: Consumer Health: Find Articles

On this page you'll find the databases we recommend for articles on consumer health topics. Depending on your specific project, you may find certain resources more relevant that others.

Recommended Consumer Health Databases

CINAHL with Full Text
Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users
Health and Wellness with Alternative Health Module (Gale)
A consumer health resource that includes health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over health videos, hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. [Can limit search to full-text and peer-reviewed/refereed articles.]
Medline (via Ovid)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Bibliographic database of over 21 million citations to the literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences, biomedicine, and health care; International in scope; Abstracts included in 75% of the records; (mid 1960's+) Hint: Search both Embase and Medline to improve drug topic results. No additional username or password needed unless you want to save a search! Also available through PubMed.
PubMed (MCPHS link)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Center (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. Limited full-text available. [Free to MCPHS users download mobile app for your mobile device.]

A-Z List of Databases
This is the full list of MCPHS's databases - you can browse alphabetically, or search by subject or database title.

Free Databases

Consumer Product Information Center
Information on over 8,000 consumer products, allowing users to research products based on chemical ingredients. Can browse or search this database by products, ingredients, or Material Safety Data Sheets to easily locate the desired information. From DeLima Associates. Funded by National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Public Health Service, Department of Health & Human Services. The former Household Products Database was based on CPID data.
Medline Plus
Free government research website under the National Library of Medicine, contains Consumer Health information as well as dozens of links to other resources, email notification available, and subject searching as well as papers on specific therapies, diseases, drugs, and more. Includes health information in a variety of languages.

Practice Getting from a Citation to a Full-Text Article
Librarian-on-Your-Shoulder Tutorial

Remember to Ask Yourself:

Trust It or Trash It

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Connect Google Scholar and the MCPHS Libraries to get to the full-text articles you find. Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!

Set Up Google Scholar & MCPHS Libraries:

Click on Settings in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
Choose Library Links on the left, search for MCPHS.
Select MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS).
Click the blue Save button.
That's it!

Next time you're searching, look for the MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS). link next to each search result.

Don't see it? Click on more underneath the result.

Consumer Health

PDF vs. Get Full Text

Search strategies

Recommended Consumer Health Databases

Free Databases

Remember to Ask Yourself:

Connect Google Scholar and the Library