Research Guides: PAS 533A: Materials for 2025

Introduction

Being able to access / acquire evidence is an important part of the evidence-based medicine process – and it’s a skill set that takes practice! This week we’ll:

Practice searching techniques..
Practice using PubMed and Cochrane for EBM.
Start finding sources for your PICO question-based literature reviews.
Review how to use those sources appropriately in your own work, such as the brief you will be writing for this class

Gather Background Information

DynaMed
Read an overview of a specific disease or condition. Learn about symptoms, diagnosis methods, common treatments, and more. Summaries include drug information from Micromedex and images.
AccessMedicine
Search for book chapters and videos about your topic. Use diagnostic tools and read case files. Create a personal MyAccess account to test your own knowledge.
Micromedex
Check information about medications. Learn:
- what a medication treats
- how to use it
- its potential side effects
- how it interacts with other medications, lab tests, and conditions
- and more.
Get patient education handouts.
Micromedex includes: •AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX® •Alternative Medicine Information •CareNotes® Patient Education Information •Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer — Drug Monographs & Patient Counseling Guidelines (formerly USP DI Vol. 2) •DISEASEDEX™ Emergency Medicine •DISEASEDEX™ General Medicine •DRUGDEX™ — Drug Evaluation Monographs & "Drug Points" ("Drug Points" — formerly USP DI Vol. 1) •Drug Interaction Checking •Imprint Codes in Identidex® — Tablet & Capsule Identification •Index Nominum — International Drugs •IV Compatibility •Lab Advisor™ — Lab Test Information •MARTINDALE: The Complete Drug Reference — International Drug Information •NeoFax — Neonatal Drug Information •POISINDEX® — Toxicity Information •P&T QUIK® Reports •RED BOOK Online® •TOMES® System — Toxicology and Occupational & Environmental MCPHS users can download mobileMicromedex to their mobile device from this site. [Free to MCPHS users you can download mobileMICROMEDEX to your mobile device.]
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Search for guidelines for a topic. Filter by the patient's age, clinical area / discipline, type of intervention, or guideline source. Labels indicate if guidelines were based on systematic reviews, ratings of evidence quality, or ratings of evidence strength. Each result links to the original source.

Searching

Searching Databases
Review general information about relevant databases. Practice searching in PubMed and Cochrane Library.

Survey
A 4-question survey to help us think about wording

Try it out!

Take a few minutes to search for your group's topic.

PubMed (MCPHS link)
Large, free database of health information. Created by the U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Some articles are free for anyone to read. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for the articles that are not free.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a tool you can use to get quick answers to clinical questions.
Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) – Cochrane Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) – Clinical Trials, Clinical Answers.

Using Your Sources

Using Your Sources
How can you use the information in your sources?

Presentation: The MCPHS Libraries and You

About the MCPHS Libraries
How to get help, get articles, and get training from the library.

Check Your Understanding

Ethical Writing Quiz (2025)
Check your knowledge.

PAS 533A

Your Librarian

Introduction

Being able to access / acquire evidence is an important part of the evidence-based medicine process – and it’s a skill set that takes practice! This week we’ll:

Gather Background Information

Searching

Try it out!

Using Your Sources

Presentation: The MCPHS Libraries and You

Check Your Understanding

You might also like...