Welcome to the Physical Therapy Research Guide! The Physical Therapy Research Guide is a mini-universe of resources designed to support your academic work in physical therapy so you can quickly access the resources you need.
If you don't find what you're looking for or have any questions, contact your librarian!
Need to get started fast? The following are some of our best bets, or most frequently used resources in physical therapy.
Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Bibliographic database of over 21 million citations to the literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences, biomedicine, and health care; International in scope; Abstracts included in 75% of the records; (mid 1960's+) Hint: Search both Embase and Medline to improve drug topic results. No additional username or password needed unless you want to save a search! Also available through PubMed.
Tip: Use the Change link above the search box if you want to switch to searching a different database from Ovid.
Read core textbooks and reference books for physical therapy. View related videos. Use study tools. Use the quiz tool to practice for the National Physical Therapy Exam.
The F.A. Davis Collection complements the AccessPhysiotherapy Collection. It has its own site. Use the F.A.Davis PT Collection link in this list of databases OR click "See also AccessPhysiotherapy F.A. Davis PT Collection" icon in AccessPhysiotherapy.
Faculty members: Create a free MyAccess account and follow the instructions on the For Instructors tab to access additional materials.
An evidence-based clinical reference tool that provides therapists and students with the best available evidence for their information needs in the areas of Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more; contains full-text for over 190 sports and rehabilitation journals dating back to 1963.
Check out these databases for additional physical therapy related articles.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
AMED provides an alternative medicine database to learn more about alternative treatments. It contains basic bibliographic records for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European. AMED is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.
Embase (the Excerpta Medica database) is known for its extensive coverage of drug and biomedical literature; selective coverage of dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, and psychology; emphasis on Evidence Based Medicine; medical devices. Most Medline records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well over 5 million records not covered on Medline. Embase also now includes records from ClinicalTrials.gov. Searchers can use filters to remove those records if desired.
Tip: Use the Change link above the search box if you want to switch to searching a different database from Ovid.
