Research Guides: *Physical Therapy: Find Sources

What's On This Page?

On this page you'll find databases, books, web resources, and other resources we recommend to find information on physical therapy. We have organized the resources on this page by PTH course number. Depending on your specific project, you may find some resources more useful than others.

Multiple Book Sources

PTH Course Reserves
Here you will find the School of Physical Therapy course books that the Library was able to purchase as e-books or in print.
AccessPhysiotherapy
Read core textbooks and reference books for physical therapy. View related videos. Use study tools. Use the quiz tool to practice for the National Physical Therapy Exam.

F.A. Davis PT Collection
Read textbooks and reference books for physical therapy. View related videos. Use the interactive review tool. All of the books on this site are from F.A. Davis, a well-known publisher. This collection complements AccessPhysiotherapy.

PTH 520 Clinical Medicine & Pathology

AMA Manual of Style (11th Ed.)
ISBN: 9780190246556
Publication Date: 2020-03-02
Oxford University Press
5 simultaneous users
Please log out when finished.

NLM Catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI Databases
Look up NLM journal abbreviations to properly cite your references in AMA format.

PTH 540 & PTH 545 Evidence for PT Practice

AMA Manual of Style (11th Ed.)
ISBN: 9780190246556
Publication Date: 2020-03-02
Oxford University Press
5 simultaneous users
Please log out when finished.

Medline (via Ovid)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Bibliographic database of over 21 million citations to the literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences, biomedicine, and health care; International in scope; Abstracts included in 75% of the records; (mid 1960's+) Hint: Search both Embase and Medline to improve drug topic results. No additional username or password needed unless you want to save a search! Also available through PubMed.
CINAHL with Full Text
The new CINAHL site will be available at MCPHS on August 6th. Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users

PTH 560 Standardized Measurement in PT Practice

Rehabilitation Measures Database
A collection of instruments for evaluating rehabilitation patients' outcomes. Filter your search by type of assessment, body part, cost, or other criteria. Descriptions explain how the instrument should be used and share background information on its creation. Source information, including available PubMed abstracts for related publications, are included. Created by the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago (now known as the Shirley Ryan Ability Lab), Center for Rehabilitation Outcomes Research, and Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine Department of Medical Social Sciences Informatics group, the database is now maintained by a wide community.

Get Your Source

Looking for the full text? Either of the following symbols will take you to the full text of your item:

PDF or Get Full Text (MCPHS)

If the item you want is not available directly from MCPHS:

Check to see if the item is freely available online. Use the links in the "Try to get a free / open access version" section.
Is the item you are searching for not in our collections and not freely available online? Book chapters and articles not available from MCPHS’ print and digital collections can often be obtained from other libraries via our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Requests for Interlibrary Loans can be made by submitting this form, or by accessing the “Get Full Text” links from citations available from our databases. This service is provided for MCPHS faculty, staff, and students only.