Research Guides: Black History Month: Get Started

Ask a Librarian


	Text us at 1-617-299-7092
	Submit a Question
	Find Your Librarian
	Explore our FAQs

Welcome

Welcome to the Black History Month LibGuide! In this guide, you will find information and resources about Black History Month, and resources supporting each year's theme.

If you don't find what you're looking for or have any questions, contact the library!

About Black History Month

This video from Stanford historian Michael Hines discusses the beginnings and the evolution of Black History Month.

National Museum of African American History and Culture: Knowing the Past Opens the Door to the Future: The Continuing Importance of Black History Month
Explore the origins of Black History Month as well as its continuing importance with the National Museum of African American History and Culture.
ASALH: About Black History Month
Learn about the origins of Black History Month from ASALH.
BlackHistoryMonth.gov
This website is a collaborative project between of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. Learn about Black History Month and explore their curated lists of exhibits and audio and video.

Important Note

On this guide we have included some resources that we recommend, but are not available through the MCPHS Libraries. For these resources, we have set up the links to redirect to the Boston Public Library, as many members of the MCPHS community are able to use their resources. If you are not able to use the Boston Public Library, feel free to find these resources at your own library!

Want to sign up for a Boston Public Library eCard? Learn to do so here. Not eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard? Find these items in your local library in WorldCat.

Nonfiction Books

A Black Women's History of the United States

Fiction Books

Online Resources

BlackPast
BlackPast is an online reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.
National Museum of African American History and Culture: Searchable Museum
The National Museum of African American History and Culure's Searchable Museum is a place to explore history and culture through an African American lens.
NYPL: #SchomburgSyllabus
The #SchomburgSyllabus is an archive of new and recent educational resources relating to Black studies, movements, and experiences. By connecting these materials to the Schomburg Center’s collections, we honor and recognize the source and strength of Black self-education practices, collective study, and librarianship. The #SchomburgSyllabus is curated by Schomburg Center staff and organized into 27 themes to foster a greater understanding of the Black experience.
NYPL: Digital Schomburg
Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global Black experience through online materials at the Schomburg Center created and curated by their staff and librarians.
U.S. National Archives: African American History
The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the Black experience. This page highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.
Artstor: 23 Freely Accessible Black History Collections
Explore freely accessible image and primary source collections that focus on Black History.

Black History Month

Ask a Librarian

Text us at 1-617-299-7092

Submit a Question

Find Your Librarian