Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero: Citation Manager

Using Zotero

Now that you've created a Zotero account and you have sources in it, you can start using it to save time during your writing process. This page will walk you through some options.

You'll need your Zotero Library (the part on your computer) to be open when you're creating Reference Lists, Bibliographies or working in MS Word.

Drag & Drop a Citation

Drag and drop references into a bibliography:

  1. Select the reference(s) you want to include.
  2. Drag them to a Word Document/Google Doc.
  3. Drop them.
  4. That's it, your references are now ready to be used in a bibliography.

Select Multiple Citations to Create a Reference List

Create a bibliography by selecting references:

  1. Select the references you want to include.
  2. Right-click and select Generate Bibliography from Items.
  3. Choose your citation style, bibliography and copy to clipboard.
  4. Open a Word Document.
  5. Paste (ctr + v).
  6. That's it, your references are in a document, ready to be used in a bibliography

Drag & Drop an In-text Citation

You can drag & drop in-text citations, the same way that you drag & drop a reference(s):

  1. Select the reference you're using.
  2. Hold down shift while dragging it to your paper.
  3. Drop it.
  4. That's it!

Word Processor Add-In

Another great way to integrate Zotero into your writing process is through a Word plugin. To install it: 

  1. Make sure your MS Word is closed.
  2. Go to Preferences > Cite > Word Processors from your desktop Zotero library.
  3. Click Install Microsoft Word Add-In.
  4. You'll see confirmation that is was installed.
  5. Recommended: choose classic Add Citation dialog option, then click OK.
  6. Now when you open MS Word, there should be a Zotero tab at the top of your document.

To use the Add-In:

  1. Write your sentence that needs a citation.
  2. On the Zotero tab, choose Add/Edit Citation.
  3. If prompted, choose your citation style and click OK.
  4. In the window that pops up, select the article you're going to cite; Zotero will create an in-text citation. Continue throughout your paper.
  5. When you're ready to see your bibliography, just click Add/Edit Bibliography.

Note: in the window that pops up you can add multiple citations (as needed), and page numbers.

Another great way to integrate Zotero into your writing process is through a Word plugin. To install it: 

  1. Make sure your MS Word is closed.
  2. Go to Preferences > Cite > Word Processors from your desktop Zotero library.
  3. Click Install Microsoft Word Add-In.
  4. You'll see confirmation that is was installed.
  5. Recommended: choose classic Add Citation dialog option, then click OKZotero preference menu for setting up Microsoft Word Add-In. 
  6. Now when you open MS Word, there should be a Zotero tab at the top of your document.Zotero menu in Microsoft Word.

To use the Add-In:

  1. Write your sentence that needs a citation.
  2. On the Zotero tab, choose Add/Edit Citation.
    Word document with the add/edit citation button circled. 
  3. If prompted, choose your citation style and click OK.
    The citation style menu for Zotero inside Word. 
  4. In the window that pops up, select the article you're going to cite; Zotero will create an in-text citation. Continue throughout your paper.
    The add/edit citation menu - choose the source you're citing. 
    Word document with in-text citations added through Zotero. 
  5. When you're ready to see your bibliography, just click Add/Edit Bibliography.
    Word document with in-text citations and reference list added through Zotero.

Note: in the window that pops up you can add multiple citations (as needed), and page numbers.

Connect with the Library via Social Media: Facebook Twitter Instagram