Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero: Citation Manager

Zotero & Chromebooks

While you can't download and use the full Zotero on your Chromebook, you can do a lot of things through Zotero.org (Zotero Online), and you can use ZoteroBib for quick citation help.

Use the Connector to Save Citations into Your Online Zotero

Saving one article:

  1. When you want to save an article, click on the     in the top right corner of your browser.
  2. If prompted click on Enable Saving to Online Library.
  3. That's it, your article citation should now be in your Zotero library.

Saving multiple articles:

  1. When there are several articles on a page that you want to save, click on the      in the top right corner of your browser.
  2. If prompted click on Enable Saving to Online Library.
  3. In the window that opens, select the articles you want to save and click OK.
  4. That's it, your article citations should now be in your Zotero library.

Saving one article:

  1. When you want to save an article, click on the     in the top right corner of your browser. 
    Item page in Smart Search, Zotero Connector browser extension is saving citation information and pdf to Zotero Library.
     
  2. If prompted click on Enable Saving to Online Library.
  3. That's it, your article citation should now be in your Zotero library.

Saving multiple articles:

  1. When there are several articles on a page that you want to save, click on the      in the top right corner of your browser.
  2. If prompted click on Enable Saving to Online Library.
  3. In the window that opens, select the articles you want to save and click OK.
    Smart Search results page, Zotero Connector browser extension is showing a list of the items it can save.
     
  4. That's it, your article citations should now be in your Zotero library.

Manually Adding Citations to Your Online Library

  1. Go to Zotero.org
  2. Log in and click on My Library.
  3. Click on the "+" sign to create an item and fill in the information.
  4. You can then attach the pdf if you have it.

Inserting References into Your Paper

Creating a Bibliography/Reference List

  • In your Online Zotero, go to My Library.
  • Select the items that you want to include in your bibliography/reference list.
  • Click the Create Bibliography button. 
  • When prompted, select your citation style.
  • Click Copy to Clipboard and then past the resulting bibliography into your document.

 

In-Text Citations

  • The most effective process is to type in-text citations by hand (make sure to check the requirements of your citation style).

Attaching PDFs in Your Online Library

When adding items to your online Zotero library (through the browser connector or manually), the article PDF will not automatically be added. You can add it manually by doing the following:

  • Download the article PDF onto your computer. 
  • In your online Zotero Library, select the item.
  • In the right-side panel, select Attachments.
  • Click Add File, select the pdf, and click Open.

Zotero online, use attachment button to add a pdf to an item.

Inserting References into Your Paper

Creating a Bibliography/Reference List

  • In your Online Zotero, go to My Library.
  • Select the items that you want to include in your bibliography/reference list.
  • Click the Create Bibliography button. 
  • When prompted, select your citation style.
  • Click Copy to Clipboard and then past the resulting bibliography into your document.

 

In-Text Citations

  • The most effective process is to type in-text citations by hand (make sure to check the requirements of your citation style).

Creating a Bibliography/Reference List

  • In your Online Zotero, go to My Library.
  • Select the items that you want to include in your bibliography/reference list.
  • Click the Create Bibliography button.

Zotero online library, create bibliography button is circled

  •  When prompted, select your citation style.
  • Click Copy to Clipboard and then past the resulting bibliography into your document.

Zotero online, in bibliography window where citation style is chosen and bibliography is copied to clipboard.

Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Twitter Instagram