Research Guides: Gender and Culture: Find Articles

On this page you'll find the databases we recommend for articles on gender and culture. Depending on your specific project, you may find certain resources more relevant that others.

Recommended Gender and Culture Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from high-quality international journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. (1980 +) Also includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. [When searching need to check the box "to peer-reviewed publications" under the Advanced Search to view only peer-reviewed articles.]
CINAHL with Full Text
Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users
Gale Databases
This is a link to all Gale Databases.
• Academic OneFile (Gale) • Academic OneFile Select (Gale) • Agriculture (Gale) • Biography (Gale in Context) • Business (Gale OneFile) • Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) • Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) • Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile) • Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) • Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) • Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) • Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) • Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) • Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile) • Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) • General OneFile (Gale) • Global Issues (Gale in Context) • Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) • Health and Wellness with Alternative Health Module (Gale) • Home Improvement (Gale OneFile) • Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) • Information Science (Gale OneFile) • Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile) • Literature Resource Center (Gale) • Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) • New York Times • News (Gale OneFile) • Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) • Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) • Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) • Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) • Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) • Psychology (Gale OneFile) • Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) • Science (Gale in Context) • U.S. History (Gale in Context) • Vocations & Careers (Gale OneFile) • War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) • World History (Gale in Context)

JSTOR
Scroll down to JSTOR. JSTOR includes full-text peer-reviewed articles from journals in the social sciences and humanities. To access this database you need a BPL card or eCard. Sign up for a BPL eCard.

General OneFile (Gale)
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. [Some full-text available. Can limit search to only full-text and peer-reviewed.]
PsycInfo (APA)
An electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. About 99% of the journals in the database are peer-reviewed, dating from the early 1800s to the present.

A-Z List of Databases
This is the full list of MCPHS's databases - you can browse alphabetically, or search by subject or database title.

Specific Journals

Search for a specific journal using our Journal Search tool.

Camera Obscura
A scholarly quarterly journal providing feminist perspectives on international film, television, and visual media.
differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies
Journal focusing on cultural studies and feminism.
Feminist Theory
Feminist Theory is an international peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism.
Gender and Society
Gender & Society (GENDSOC) is a peer-reviewed journal, focused on the study of gender. It is the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, and was founded in 1987 as an outlet for feminist social science.
Gender Forum
Gender Forum is an online, peer reviewed academic journal dedicated to the discussion of gender issues exploring topics in the fields of literary and cultural production, media and the arts as well as politics, the natural sciences, medicine, the law, religion and philosophy.
Gender Issues
Journal covering basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women, socialization, personality, behaviour, roles, and statuses throughout the world.
Genders
Offers essays about gender and sexuality in relation to social, political, artistic, and economic issues.
Intersections
Gender and sexuality issues in Asia and the Pacific.
Journal of Comparative Research in Anthropology and Sociology
The Journal publishes original research encouraging a comparative approach that musters and confronts multiple strands of theoretical orientation, methods, materials, pieces of research or other social realities.
Journal of Gender, Race and Justice
Provides a focus on race, sex, class, religion, and other subjects.
Journal of Women's History
Journal of Women's History is the first journal devoted exclusively to the international field of women's history...Its guiding principle is a belief that the divide between "women's history" and "gender history" can be, and is, bridged by work on women that is sensitive to the particular historical constructions of gender that shape and are shaped by women's experience.
Sex Roles
Journal offering a feminist perspective publishing original research reports and review articles that illuminate processes and consequences of gender role socialization, gendered perceptions and behaviors, and gender stereotypes.

Need to Find an Article?

Practice Getting from a Citation to a Full-Text Article
Librarian-on-Your-Shoulder Tutorial

Trust It or Trash It?

Remember to Ask Yourself:

Trust It or Trash It

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Connect Google Scholar and the MCPHS Libraries to get to the full-text articles you find. Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!

Set Up Google Scholar & MCPHS Libraries:

Click on Settings in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
Choose Library Links on the left, search for MCPHS.
Select MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS).
Click the blue Save button.
That's it!

Next time you're searching, look for the MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS). link next to each search result.

Don't see it? Click on more underneath the result.

Gender and Culture

A Second Password

PDF vs. Get Full Text