Research Guides: *Health Humanities: Find Articles

On this page you'll find the databases we recommend for articles on topics associated with the health humanities. Depending on your specific project, you may find certain resources more relevant that others.

Recommended Databases

A-Z List of Databases
This is the full list of MCPHS's databases - you can browse alphabetically, or search by subject or database title.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from high-quality international journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. (1980 +) Also includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. [When searching need to check the box "to peer-reviewed publications" under the Advanced Search to view only peer-reviewed articles.]
CINAHL with Full Text
The new CINAHL site is now live. Literature related to nursing and allied health; also consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship; indexes over 2900 journals; also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and AV materials in nursing, the Pre-CINAHL dataset, and more. (1981 +). Full Text to over 600 nursing and allied health journals!! Free to MCPHS users access through a mobile device.
*Unlimited users

JSTOR
Scroll down to JSTOR. JSTOR includes full-text peer-reviewed articles from journals in the social sciences and humanities. To access this database you need a BPL card or eCard. Sign up for a BPL eCard.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. A good resource when you are looking for overviews of a work as well as literary analyses on specific authors or works. Some full-text available. [Can limit search to peer-reviewed.]
Medline (via Ovid)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Bibliographic database of over 21 million citations to the literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences, biomedicine, and health care; International in scope; Abstracts included in 75% of the records; (mid 1960's+) Hint: Search both Embase and Medline to improve drug topic results. No additional username or password needed unless you want to save a search! Also available through PubMed.

Specific Journals

Search for a specific journal using our Journal page!

Bulletin of the History of Medicine
Official publication of the American Association for the History of Medicine and the Johns Hopkins Institute of the History of Medicine.
Hektoen International: A Journal of Medical Humanities
About art, ethics, healthcare, history, and literature.
Journal of Medical Humanities
A peer-reviewed articles on the interdisciplinary studies of medicine and medical education, including literature, history, philosophy, and bioethics as well as areas of the social and behavioral sciences that have strong humanistic traditions.
The Journal of Medicine and Philosophy
Peer-reviewed articles from clinical bioethics to studies in the philosophy of medicine such as explorations of the nature of concepts of health and disease, as well as the character of medical explanation.
Literature and Medicine
Available in print in the MCPHS Library. A peer reviewed journal concerned with issues of illness, health, medical science, violence, and the body in literature.
Medical History
Peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of the history of medicine, health and related sciences.
Medical Humanities
Includes peer-reviewed articles on healthcare, the formulation of public health policy, the experience of being ill and of caring for those who are ill, as well as case conferences, educational case studies, book, film, and art reviews, etc.
Philosophy, Ethics, and Humanities in Medicine
Peer-reviewed articles on the philosophy of medicine and biology, and on ethical aspects of clinical practice and research.

Practice Getting from a Citation to a Full-Text Article
Librarian-on-Your-Shoulder Tutorial

Finding Full Text Articles

After you locate an article in a database, use the button to see if one of the library's other databases has the article in full text.

Interlibrary Loan

Still can't find the full text? Our interlibrary loan services will find the full text for you!

Interlibrary Loan

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Connect Google Scholar and the MCPHS Libraries to get to the full-text articles you find. Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!

Set Up Google Scholar & MCPHS Libraries:

Click on Settings in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
Choose Library Links on the left, search for MCPHS.
Select MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS).
Click the blue Save button.
That's it!

Next time you're searching, look for the MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS). link next to each search result.

Don't see it? Click on more underneath the result.

*Health Humanities

What is a Database?

A Second Password

PDF vs. Get Full Text

Recommended Databases

Specific Journals

Finding Full Text Articles

Interlibrary Loan

Connect Google Scholar and the Library