Research Guides: Hispanic Heritage Month: Hispanic Heritage Month

Welcome

Welcome to the Hispanic Heritage Month LibGuide! In this guide, you will find information and resources about Hispanic Heritage Month.

If you don't find what you're looking for or have any questions, contact the library!

About Hispanic Heritage Month

This video from Salud America! discusses the history of Hispanic Heritage Month.

National Hispanic Heritage Month
This website is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. Learn more about Hispanic Heritage Month and explore their curated lists of resources, exhibits and collections, and audio and video.
A Proclamation on National Hispanic Heritage Month, 2024 from President Biden
White House Initiative on Advancing Educational Equity, Excellence, and Economic Opportunity for Hispanics: National Hispanic Heritage Month

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month 2024: Events, Activities and More!

Fiesta En La Plaza
The City of Boston and Cultural Ágora celebrate Latinx Heritage Month with Fiesta en la Plaza. The diverse program of cultural activities will take place September 15, 19, and 27 at City Hall Plaza
CineFest Latino Boston
CineFest Latino Boston LLC is an annual film festival conducted in Boston, highlighting stories by and about Latinos. The festival is committed to using the power of film to break stereotypes, bring cultures and communities together and reveal the complex issues affecting the Latinx community in the United States, as well as communities in Latin America and Spain.
Boston Public Library: Hispanic Heritage Month Events
Check out the Hispanic Heritage Month events at the Boston Public Library!
Latinx Heritage Night at the MFA
Join the MFA on Thursday, September 26 for an evening celebrating Latinx heritage and culture, presented in partnership with Amplify Latinx and Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción. Catch live music, dance performances, and talks in the galleries; see works of art from North, Central, and South America; and network with friends and family—all in celebration of Latinx Heritage Month!
Boston Public Library: Vida Latina
Vida Latina is a a list of recent books published as part of the Boston Public Library's observance of Hispanic Heritage Month each year from September 15th - October 15th. The list was first published in 2004 as Latino Life; in 2018, the name was changed to Latinx Life; and in 2023, the name was changed to Vida Latina. Check out this year's reading lists!
National Museum of the American Latino: Hispanic Hertiage Month Resources
Learn about Hispanic Heritage Month, explore virtual exhibits, find educational resources, check out events, and more from the National Museum of the American Latino.
Goodreads: Hispanic Heritage Month Book Recommendations
Check out Goodreads' recommendations for Hispanic Heritage Month!
Spotify Latin
Celebrate with Latin playlists!

Important Note

On this guide we have included some resources that we recommend, but are not available at MCPHS. We have set up the link for these items to redirect to WorldCat so you can find it at your local library!

Books

For Brown Girls with Sharp Edges and Tender Hearts

An African American and Latinx History of the United States

Resisting Categories: Latin American and/or Latino?

Online Resources

U.S. National Archives: Hispanic/Latino Heritage
Explore resources from the U.S. National Archives related to Hispanic/Latino heritage.
Google Arts & Culture: Latino Cultures in the United States
Explore and be inspired by the contributions and experiences of Latinos in the United States.
JSTOR: 23 Open Collections for Hispanic Heritage Month
Artstor and JSTOR offer more than a million freely accessible images and other materials from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials. Explore 23 open collections containing Latin American content.
National Museum of the American Latino: Presente! A Latino History of the United States
Reexamine what you know about U.S. history by learning more about Latino identity, immigration, historical legacies, and how Latinas and Latinos have shaped the nation. Listen to first-person oral histories, examine 3D objects, dive into historical biographies, and explore some of the objects found in the Presente! virtual exhibition at the National Museum of the American Latino to see how the past relates to the present.
StoryCorps Historias
Launched in 2009, StoryCorps Historias is an initiative to record the diverse stories and life experiences of Latina/Latino people in the United States.
The Museum of Latin American Art (MOLAA): Virtual Tours
The Museum of Latin American Art (MOLAA) was founded in 1996 in Long Beach, California and serves the greater Los Angeles area. MOLAA is the only museum in the United States dedicated to modern and contemporary Latin American and Latino art. Since its inception, MOLAA has doubled its size, added a 15,000 sq. ft. sculpture garden and expanded its permanent collection, ranging from works by Tamayo and Matta to Cruz-Diez, Los Carpinteros and Tunga. Check out their online exhibits and virtual tours!

Hispanic Heritage Month Highlights

AAMC: Celebrating 10 Hispanic Pioneers in Medicine
These inspiring leaders launched advances in medicine and research that led to Nobel Prizes, life-changing cures, and better care for millions of people. AAMC shares their incredible stories.
Google Arts & Culture: 10 Inspiring Latinas Who've Made History
Learn about the fascinating lives of ten inspiring Latinas who have made history.
Chemical and Engineering News: Hispanic and Latino Chemists You Should Know About
Learn about Hispanic and Latino scientists who discovered new elements, helped develop the birth control pill, and more!