Hispanic Heritage Month

The AMA Journal of Ethics devoted their April 2022 issue (Volume 24, Number 4: E249-341) to Health Equity in US Latinx Communities.

"The Race and Medicine collection reflects NEJM’s commitment to understanding and combating racism as a public health and human rights crisis. Our commitment to antiracism includes efforts to educate the medical community about systemic racism, to support physicians and aspiring physicians who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color, and ultimately to improve the care and lives of patients who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color."

"Explore the latest in health disparities, including differences in health status and health care access by race, sex, income, and geography."

To celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month 2023, the Office of Minority Health created the Better Health Through Better Understanding for Hispanics/Latinos: Health Literacy, Barriers to Healthcare, and Improving Language Access and Health Outcomes 2023 Reading List. This brief bibliography contains various resources focused on Hispanic/Latino health, health literacy, and limited English proficiency (LEP). The list contains resources such as factsheets, resources for consumers, reports for healthcare providers, and peer-reviewed articles. The list is no longer available on the U.S. government's site but is still available in the Internet Archive's pages.

This pathfinder walks users through some key articles, reports, and other resources that touch upon diseases, social determinants of health, racial justice, and other important topics for Hispanic/Latino health.

Information about Cultural Competence in Health and Human Services from the CDC's National Prevention Information Network (NPIN).

Information on Culture, Language, and Health Literacy from the Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA). Includes specific information about cultural and linguistic competence, HIV/AIDS, and maternal and child health.

"The Georgetown University National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) provides national leadership and contributes to the body of knowledge on cultural and linguistic competency within systems and organizations. Major emphasis is placed on translating evidence into policy and practice for programs and personnel concerned with health and mental health care delivery, administration, education and advocacy."

National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care. The National CLAS Standards are intended to advance health equity, improve quality, and help eliminate health care disparities by establishing a blueprint for health and health care organizations.

Tools for measuring healthcare quality, including the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports, AHRQ Quality Indicators, and ambulatory clinical performance measures.

"This website features information, continuing education opportunities, resources, and more for health and health care professionals to learn about culturally and linguistically appropriate services, or CLAS. Launched in 2004, Think Cultural Health is sponsored by the Office of Minority Health."

CLAS are services that are respectful of and responsive to the health beliefs, practices, and needs of diverse patients. CLAS is a way to improve the quality of services provided to all individuals, which will ultimately help reduce health disparities and achieve health equity. This page provides information about Provides information about the National CLAS Standards, Think Cultural Health, E-Learning Programs, Maternal Health Care Providers E-Learning Program, and Behavioral Health E-Learning Program.