Finding Peer Reviewed Sources: Databases with Peer Reviewed Content

PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.

PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Bibliographic database of over 21 million citations to the literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences, biomedicine, and health care; International in scope; Abstracts included in 75% of the records; (mid 1960's+) Hint: Search both Embase and Medline to improve drug topic results. No additional username or password needed unless you want to save a search! Also available through PubMed.

Tip: Use the Change link above the search box if you want to switch to searching a different database from Ovid.

Embase (the Excerpta Medica database) is known for its extensive coverage of drug and biomedical literature; selective coverage of dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, and psychology; emphasis on Evidence Based Medicine; medical devices. Most Medline records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well over 5 million records not covered on Medline. Embase also now includes records from ClinicalTrials.gov. Searchers can use filters to remove those records if desired.

Tip: Use the Change link above the search box if you want to switch to searching a different database from Ovid.

ScienceDirect has thousands of journals and books on a range of science topics. MCPHS has access to the majority of the journals and some of the books. You can find information about health sciences, biology, chemistry, and physics, and more. You can also find some content about humanities and social sciences.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. Limited full-text available.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a tool you can use to get quick answers to clinical questions.
Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) – Cochrane Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) – Clinical Trials, Clinical Answers.

Access to monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over the counter products, new and investigational drugs, and patient education information (in English and Spanish). This site will automatically adjust to fit your screen.

A clinical reference tool that contains articles on over 7000 diseases and disorders written and edited by physicians. Each article is peer-reviewed by physicians and a PharmD before it is published; Also provides practice guidelines, images, & references; Updated regularly. From WebMD.

A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. From the National Library of Medicine.

Information on herbs and Integrative Medicine. Developed by international collaborators from highly regarded academic institutions to provide quality information that has been validated and peer reviewed.

A comprehensive database of information and peer-reviewed summaries about cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics & supportive care, plus clinical trials. Features: drug dictionary, cancer terms dictionary, search for clinical trials. From the National Cancer Institute.