Skip to Main Content
MCPHS Library Logo

Physician Assistant Studies

Academic resources that support research, teaching, and learning in the field of physician assistant studies.

What's On This Page?

On this page you'll find databases, books, web resources, and other resources we recommend to find information related to Physician Assistant Studies.  We have organized the resources on this page by type.  Depending on your specific project, you may find some resources more useful than others. 

Databases

PubMed (MCPHS-specific link)

PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Center (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.

AccessMedicine 

Access Medicine is an innovative online resource that provides access to more than 75 medical titles such as Harrison's Online and Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, images and videos, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and an integrated drug database. 
Note to faculty members: Create a free MyAccess account and follow the instructions on the For Instructors tab to access additional materials.

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE's

Watch short videos on examining and interviewing a patient right in your browser - no extra software required!  The videos have closed captioning you can use on most devices (exceptions are iPhones and, when you are in full video mode, iPads.)

Evidence Based Practice

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Review is a systematic review that attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimizing bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision-making. Cochrane Reviews may be updated to reflect the findings of new evidence when it becomes available because the results of new studies can change the conclusions of a review.

Point of Care Resources

DynaMed

Find quick overviews of different conditions in this evidence-based point-of-care clinical decision support system and reference tool. Summaries include drug information from Micromedex and images. The site automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. You can also download the "Free to MCPHS users" app.

Get Your Source

Looking for the full text?  Either of the following symbols will take you to the full text of your item:

PDFor  Get Full Text (MCPHS)

If the item you want is not available directly from MCPHS:

  • Check to see if the item is freely available online. Use the links in the "Try to get a free / open access version" section.
  • Is the item you are searching for not in our collections and not freely available online?  Book chapters and articles not available from MCPHS’ print and digital collections can often be obtained from other libraries via our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Requests for Interlibrary Loans can be made by submitting this form, or by accessing the “Get Full Text” links from citations available from our databases. This service is provided for MCPHS faculty, staff, and students only. 
Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Instagram