Learn more about how a law is created and identified. Some of the links in this page are no longer active. From Barbara Davis and Robert Brammer at the Law Library of Congress.
Browse to see specific laws (statutes) in the current U.S. code or use the search box to find laws on a specific topic. Use the "Understanding the Code" menu options to learn more about how to use what you find. From the Office of Law Revision Counsel.
This electronic site makes it easy to find current federal regulations. Select the title (topic) you want to see the current regulations on that topic. The electronic version is updated daily. Although the electronic version is not the official legally recognized version of the regulations, it is the go-to source for non-lawyers. From the U.S. Government Printing Office.
Research legal information and read government documents. Includes U.S. statutes, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. treaties, and constitutions from around the world. Parts of the collection focus on specific areas, such as religion, criminal justice, or gender.
Read introductions to specific types of law. While "public health law" is not listed, you can find related practice areas such as insurance or health care. Browse links to statutes, courts, and local ordinances in specific states. Read legal blogs, law reviews, and legal news.
Read the full-text of Massachusetts laws. Search within the laws, use the chapter and section search boxes to go to a specific law, or browse through the laws. Although this electronic version is not the officially recognized legal version, it is the go-to source for non-lawyers. From the General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Browse by topic to see links to the full-text of related state and federal laws, brief introductions to the topic, and links to related resources. Developed by the Massachusetts Trial Court Law Librarians.
Browse by regulation number or by subject. Download the regulations in PDF format to read them. The version you can download is not the officially recognized legal version but is the go-to source for the non-lawyer. From Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries.
Read the full text of proposed regulations, including what the proposal is and the reasons for the proposal. Comment on proposed regulations and read others' (anonymous) feedback on it. Understand the complexity of making legal decisions. Use the "Browse" tab to see proposals grouped by categories, such as "Food Safety, Health, and Pharmaceutical." The site includes a glossary.
This organization works to develop new laws and policies related to health. Use the documents on their website as a model when developing your own policies. Housing. tobacco, and childhood obesity are three of their focus areas. They also include information about planning healthy communities.
ASTHO focuses on public health law as it applies to healthcare practitioners and hospitals. See guidance about the legal responsibilities for specific professions, how to run a community health needs assessment, emergency preparedness, and more. Sign up for legislative alerts to be notified about political discussions related to public health. Read ASTHO's own advocacy documents.
Public health law from the local perspective. The Administrative Preparedness Legal Guidebook provides guidance on how to decide when and if a situation allows you to temporarily diverge from existing laws and what resources you need in an emergency. The site also contains brief informatin about a couple of specific topics, such as fracking or unaccompanied youth in shelters, but the guidebook is the primary source of value.
FindLaw helps you better understand the law, make more informed legal decisions, and find quality legal help. It is a legal resource for up to date legal information. There is a list of Blogs, a live Q&A, lawyers directory, and a state laws collection, featuring state-specific laws across dozens of popular legal topics.
Research legal information and read government documents. Includes U.S. statutes, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. treaties, and constitutions from around the world. Parts of the collection focus on specific areas, such as religion, criminal justice, or gender.
The Center for Public Health Law monitors the effect of specific laws (or proposed laws) on public health. Use their interactive maps to see how laws vary from state to state. Learn how to use their data collection methods for your own projects. From Temple University.
Read overviews of specific legal topics related to public health. Each overview can be downloaded as a PDF. Join the network to meet others who are interested in public health law, including lawyers, public health practitioners, and community organizations. This collaborative organization has five regions and is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Find brief summaries of topics related to the broad themes of tobacco, healthy eating (in a variety of settings), and active living. Each category and topic has a brief introduction plus links to related content, including maps comparing the legal situation in different states, cases, tip sheets, amicus curae briefs, and more. Options on the "About Us" page let you see resources by format instead of by topic. Some content has a focus on Minnesota.
Browse the topics on this site to learn more about laws on that topic. The site provides easy-to-read summary information about that topic, including what to expect if you are involved in a court case. Use this site for background information. From Thomson Reuters.
Read introductions to specific types of law. While "public health law" is not listed, you can find related practice areas such as insurance or health care. Browse links to statutes, courts, and local ordinances in specific states. Read legal blogs, law reviews, and legal news.
Use limits, filters, and subheadings in library databases to find more about your topic.
Learn what the U.S.'s federal legislature is currently considering. Look at the full-text of well-kown acts, such as the Civil Rights Act of 1964 or the Americans with Disabilities Act. Look up a specific committee, such as the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions to see documents related to that committee's work.
