Anti-Racism and Medicine

This project, created by Dr. Nicole Cooke, the Augusta Baker Endowed Chair at the University of South Carolina, is a compilation of important anti-racism resources.

Research guide from the Boston Public Library which includes resources about race, racism, police violence, privilege, social justice, civil resistance, hate crime, and civil rights.

Racial Equity Tools "offer tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their own understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large."

Created by Anna Stamborski, M. Div Candidate (2022), Nikki Zimmermann, M. Div candidate (2021), Bailie Gregory, M. Div, M.S. Ed.

This guide, created by Simmons University librarians, provides information and resources about anti-oppression, diversity and inclusion, and social justice issues. It contains a multitude of important resources, videos, and key definitions.

"The #SchomburgSyllabus is an archive of new and recent educational resources relating to Black studies, movements, and experiences. By connecting these materials to the Schomburg Center’s collections, we honor and recognize the source and strength of Black self-education practices, collective study, and librarianship. The #SchomburgSyllabus is curated by Schomburg Center staff and organized into 27 themes to foster a greater understanding of the Black experience."

This nonexhaustive collection of select research articles and books, both seminal and new, describes how racism affects health and well-being and offers a starting place for further exploration. From AAMC.

At academic medical centers, unconscious biases can compromise diversity and inclusion efforts in admissions, curriculum development, counseling, and faculty advising, among other functions. The AAMC provides resources and trainings to assist these institutions to meet their goals around addressing unconscious biases.

From the Association of Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR), resources in this Curricula are divided into three sections: A. Structural Causes of Racism and Inequity, B. Teaching Cultural Competence, C. Teaching and Addressing Privilege.

Black Perspectives is the award-winning blog of the African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS). This 16-week syllabus of readings focusing on the history of anti-Blackness in American medicine was developed by Antoine S. Johnson, Elise A. Mitchell, and Ayah Nuriddin.

Sharing best practices, resources and news curated through a health equity lens for learning and action.

List on Black/African American Health and Anti-Racist Resources from NNLM PSR (National Network of the National Library of Medicine, Pacific Southwest Region). Includes resources on the following: African American Mental Health Resources, Anti-Racist Reading Lists, Cultural Humility, NLM African American and Race History, Racism and Science, and PubMed Central Articles.

Anti-Racism Toolkit from Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University.

This syllabus was compiled and written by Abaki Beck.

This is a project of the In-Training Classroom, created by Livy Low and Maya Sandler.