Anti-Racism and Medicine

"Academic Medicine is committed to assisting medical schools and teaching hospitals, their faculty and trainees, and the public in dismantling racism. This collection of articles was curated with the intent to help readers engage in necessary conversations about race and to inform strategies to eliminate structural racism in their institution." This collection of articles is freely available to the public.

The AMA Journal of Ethics dedicated their January 2023 issue (Volume 25, Number 1: E1-87) to Segregation in Healthcare. "Structural racism is deeply embedded in US health care. Legally sanctioned racial segregation in hospitals ended with the Civil Rights Act of 1964, with fiscally incentivized enforcement through Medicare payment structures implemented in 1966. Yet, practices such as sorting patients by insurance status still perpetuate de facto racial and class segregation, especially in academic health centers. This theme issue investigates a clear health justice demand to definitively end continued normalization of structural racism everywhere we care for our ill and injured. This issue considers sources of ethical, clinical, public health, and educational responsibilities to remediate health injustice where students and trainees learn their professions and internalize professional norms."

The American Journal of Bioethics dedicated this full issue (Volume 21, Issue 2) to racism in medicine and bioethics.

"The BMJ's special issue on racism in medicine reflects the working lives of doctors from ethnic minority backgrounds and the healthcare experiences of ethnic minority patients. This edition focuses on race and its impact on health. It is a timely reflection, as we in the UK try to make sense of the societal upheavals which have convulsed the country in recent times, and in which race, racism, and power have come under close scrutiny."

Health Affairs dedicated their entire February 2022 issue (Volume 41, Number 2), to racism and health.

"Explore the latest in health disparities, including differences in health status and health care access by race, sex, income, and geography."

"Clinical research focusing on the specific needs of racial minorities, their health outcomes and disparities has the potential to significantly improve lives in our societies. The eClinicalMedicine Racial Inequity in Health Collection outlines and discusses racial and ethnic inequality across global settings. This two-part Collection demonstrates that disparities are caused by structural racism and without tailored action the inequalities are maintained and reinforced. By highlighting these issues, we provide practitioners and policy makers with the power to create better, trusted, and fairer healthcare systems for all. This first part of the Collection highlights relevant research on socioeconomic deprivation, pregnancy outcomes, hepatocellular carcinoma, communicable diseases, and much more."

"Health-care systems worldwide are fraught with inequalities that have a disproportionate impact on minoritised ethnic and racial groups. Furthermore, research focusing on health outcomes of racial minorities is lacking. eClinicalMedicine has published the second instalment of a two-part Collection entitled “Racial Inequity in Health” outlining and discussing racial and ethnic inequality across global settings. The papers in this Collection highlight racial and ethnic inequality across global healthcare settings and emphasise that without targeted action such inequalities are maintained and reinforced. By assembling these studies in an open access collection, we hope to empower policy makers and health-care workers to prioritise health inequalities among minoritised ethnic groups at research, clinical, and governmental levels. This second part of the Collection highlights relevant research on hospital care, maternal morbidity and mortality, cardiovascular disease, chronic kidney disease, and much more."

"The new Anti-racism in Medicine Collection within MedEdPORTAL provides educators with practice-based, peer-reviewed resources to teach anti-racist knowledge and clinical skills, elevates the educational scholarship of anti-racist curricula, and aims to convene a community of collaborators dedicated to the elimination of racism within medical education. To specifically support developers of and educators in anti-racist curricula, we also offer individualized mentorship for potential authors. By increasing awareness, providing professional development, contextualizing content in culturally relevant ways, and spurring explicit dialogue about racism, our journal joins the fight against health inequity and racial injustice."

The MedEdPORTAL Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection, in cosponsorship with the American Dental Education Association, features peer-reviewed educational resources for educators to advance institutional efforts in creating a diverse and inclusive culture that drives equitable clinical, educational, research, and service excellence.

"The Race and Medicine collection reflects NEJM’s commitment to understanding and combating racism as a public health and human rights crisis. Our commitment to antiracism includes efforts to educate the medical community about systemic racism, to support physicians and aspiring physicians who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color, and ultimately to improve the care and lives of patients who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color."