Research Guides: Forced Migration and Refugee Studies: In-Depth Academic Perspectives

Recommended Databases

Smart Search is a great place to start! If you want to use the tools of a specific database, consider starting with one of these:

Academic OneFile Select (Gale)
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
[When searching need to check the box "to peer-reviewed publications" under the Advanced Search to view only peer-reviewed articles.]
Nexis Uni
Find find legal information, specifics about a company, and news from around the world.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Resource for social science, history and liberal arts coursework. (1980+) Peer-reviewed articles available.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. Limited full-text available. [Free to MCPHS users download mobile app for your mobile device.]

JSTOR @ Boston Public Library
Use your Boston Public Library Card to access JSTOR. This is a great source for scholarly articles with a slightly historical perspective in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
A-Z List of Databases
This is the full list of MCPHS's databases - you can browse alphabetically, or search by subject or database title.

Getting to the Article

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either...

Both of these will take you to the article!

Clicking on the Get Full Text (MCPHS) button will open a new window to take you directly to the full article, or if the Libraries don't have a copy you can immediately request one through Interlibrary Loan. Hint: if you get a yellow bar at the top of your screen prompting you to click it, click it!

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Connect Google Scholar and the MCPHS Libraries to get to the full-text articles you find. Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!

Set Up Google Scholar & MCPHS Libraries:

Click on Settings in the Google Scholar menu - usually in the top left or right corner.
Choose Library Links on the left, search for MCPHS.
Select MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS) from the list of results.
Click the blue Save button.
That's it!

Next time you're searching, look for the Get Full Text (MCPHS) link next to each search result.

Don't see it? Click on more underneath the result.

In-Depth Information on Migration, Immigration & More

The library catalog is a great place to find in-depth information on your topic and much more. Use a simple keyword search to locate information on a particular topic. You can also look for specific books by title or for books by an individual author or browse the stacks by call number.

Remember that books are still the best place to go to understand a topic from beginning to end.