Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accreditation Resources

Sample Documents for the Work Room

Note: The list below is meant to be illustrative. While no institution will have all the listed documents, each institution will have many of these and may also have unique data to help support the self-study and provide useful information for the visiting team. For a print-friendly version, please scroll to the bottom of the page and click print

List last revised June 2016.

Standard/Supporting Documentation

Jump to: Standard 1 | Standard 2 | Standard 3 | Standard 4 | Standard 5 | Standard 6 | Standard 7 | Standard 8 | Standard 9

Standard 1: Mission and Purpose Other Standards
Current institutional mission statement 2, 4, 5, 6, 7
Mission statements of colleges, departments, divisions 2, 4
Charter 3
Trustee approval of mission statement 3
Vision statement 2, 4
Reports of trustee, faculty committees reviewing mission 2
Report of a periodic review of the mission 2
Standard 2: Planning and Evaluation Other Standards
Planning  

Strategic Plan

3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Internal or external review of the plan

1, 4, 7, 8

Related plans: e.g., financial, academic, development, technology, facilities, student services

4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Plans of individual departments and units

4

Minutes of planning councils, board planning committees

3

Reports reviewing implementation/effectiveness of prior plans

7
Evaluation  

Institutional factbook

3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Program reviews of academic and non-academic units

4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Specialized accreditation self studies, team reports, decisions

4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Student course and teaching evaluation forms and reports

4, 6

IPEDS common data

4, 7, 8

HEDS or other consortium peer institution data

4, 7, 8

NSSE or other student survey

1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Internal audit

7, 9

Department or program cost/productivity studies

4, 6, 7

Cooperative Institutional Research Program data

4, 5, 6

Placement studies of graduates

4, 8, 9

Evaluation of recent institutional initiatives

All

Special institutional studies (e.g. prelaw advising, alumni accomplishments, student IT proficiency, AHANA programs)

All

Impact study (e.g. of endowment, community service, financial aid)

4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Standard 3: Organization and Governance Other Standards

Trustee by-laws

1
Governing Board  

Board membership and affiliation

9

Trustee minutes

1, 2, 4, 7

Trustee committees (e.g., academic, budget) and minutes

2, 4, 7, 9

Documentation of board development activities

2

Policy on board evaluation of the CEO

2

Board goals and self-evaluation

1, 2, 7
Internal Governance  

College or University Manual

9

Faculty handbook

4, 6, 9

Employee handbook

9

Institutional policy and procedures manual

2, 4, 7, 9

Integration of online and off-campus faculty and students into governance structures

4, 5, 6

Policy on faculty role in programs offered at other campuses, internationally, or through distance learning

4, 6

Membership and roles of advisory committees, institutional standing and ad hoc committees

1, 9

Senate or council charter, membership, minutes

2, 4, 6

Job descriptions for principal administrators

2, 7
Standard 4: The Academic Program Other Standards
Assuring Academic Quality  

Catalogues: undergraduate, graduate, summer, continuing education, overseas, branch campus, online programs

5, 9

Schedule of program review and specialized accreditations

2

Sample program review documents

2

List of new programs since last review

2

List of program deletions since last review

2

List of major program revisions since last review

2

Contracts from contractual relationships involving degree and certificate programs

3, 6

List of conferences, institutes and workshops sponsored

1, 7

Studies of rigor/student learning outcomes for various locations, program levels, and modalities of instruction

2, 8

Policy on satisfactory academic progress

2

Policy on Credit Hour Rule

8

Robust collection of syllabi: All programs, locations, modalities

2, 8
Undergraduate Education  

Statement of institutional definition of an educated person

1

Core curriculum or general education program

2, 8

Results of most review program review of general education

2, 8

Studies of student learning outcomes in general education

 

Feedback studies from students on their undergraduate experience

2, 5, 7, 8

Data on special opportunities for students (e.g., study abroad, internships, research awards, honors): requirements, participation rates, satisfaction, learning outcomes

2, 8, 9

Studies of program impact in special areas (e.g., diversity, service)

2, 5, 7, 8, 9

Program reviews of undergraduate programs

2, 8
Graduate Education  

Reports of graduate students' qualifications at admissions

5

Graduate student manual

5

Graduate faculty manual

6

List of thesis and dissertation completions

8

List of field and clinical placement sites

9

Scholarships, fellowships, and research support awards

7, 8

Studies of retention and graduate rates

2, 8, 9

Placement studies of graduates

2, 8, 9

Program reviews of graduate programs

2, 8
Integrity in the Award of Academic Credit  

Policies regarding academic integrity and studies of how it is applied in various departments

9

Policy on evaluation of transfer credit

9

Policy on student grading

9

Graduation degree audit procedures

9

Contractual relationships involving academic credit

3, 5, 9

Policies related to course credits

9

Charter, composition, minutes of committees overseeing credit courses

3, 9

Policies on award of credit for prior experience and non-collegiate work

6, 8, 9

Policies on satisfactory academic progress and results

6, 8, 9

Organizational charts demonstrating academic oversight of all work for credit

8

Reports of academic and support services available to students not at institution's main campus (including distance and correspondence learning)

6, 9
Standard 5: Students and Co-Curricular Experiences Other Standards
Admissions  

Admissions forms (all levels, all locations)

9

Admissions policy statements

9

Admissions goals and recruitment plans and budgets

1

Admissions annual reports

5

Policy on Verification of Student Identity

4

Policy on academic sanctions

4, 9
Student Services  

Student Services Annual reports, past 5 years

2

Reports on how students are served at branch campuses, other instructional locations, campuses abroad, and online

4, 8

Financial aid policy

9

Studies of the impact of financial aid on the composition of the student body, admissions, retention, and other salient variables

2, 8, 9

Training manual for residence hall assistance

9

Resources for commuter students

8, 9

Studies of student satisfaction with campus resources

2, 4, 7, 8

Orientation programs for: freshman and transfer students, students on other campuses and locations, students on campuses abroad, students studying at a distance, graduate students

4, 7, 8

Studies of student participation in out-of-class activities, including athletics, recreation, arts, cultural activities, etc.

1, 2, 4, 8, 9

Policy on student records

9
Standard 6: Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship Other Standards

Faculty CVs by department (full-time and continuing part-time)

7

Faculty employment contract

7, 9

Promotion and tenure criteria and process

1

Faculty hiring plans, overall and by academic unit

2

Statement of diversity goals

9

Procedures for appointment of new faculty

7, 9

Office of faculty development: annual report

2

List of faculty development funds and awards

7

List of teaching support workshops for part-time and adjunct faculty

4, 7

Policy on faculty workload and assignment

1, 4
Teaching and Advising  

Policies on academic advising

5, 9

Studies of the effectiveness of advising

5, 9

Manual for teaching assistants

4

Documentation of centers, programs to support teaching

5, 7

Documentation of faculty/student role in academic integrity

4, 9
Scholarship and Research  

Institutional policies on scholarship and role of research for faculty

1, 4

Policies on academic freedom

4, 9

Annual report on research productivity and external funding

1, 4, 7, 8, 9
Standard 7: Institutional Resources Other Standards
Human Resources  

Policies and procedures related to human resources

2, 4

Procedures related to the review of human resource policies

2
Financial Resources  

Budget development policy and procedures

2

Budget requests, by unit

4, 5, 6

Budget allocations, by unit

2, 4, 5, 6

Capital budget plan

2, 4, 5, 6

Minutes of board financial committee

3

Review of new initiatives with financial implications

1, 2, 3, 4

Crosswalk between budget and other plans (strategic, academic...)

2, 4, 5

Policy on risk management

3, 9

Endowment spending policy

3

Investment policy

3

Cost/revenue studies by location, program, mission element

2, 4

Audits, institutional foundation

 

Plans for debt retirement

2
Information, Physical, and Technological Resources  

Inventory of space (by campus location)

4

Master plan for space

4, 5

Rental agreements for instructional space (all locations)

4, 5

Capital budget plan

2, 4, 5

Report of classroom/technology space

4

Policies for system reliability, integrity and security of data

4, 9

Policies on individual privacy

9

Space allocation policy

4, 5

Studies of matching academic programs with space allocation

2, 4

Inspections of campus safety of instructional, residential, administrative, and research space

9

Insurance policies

9

Prioritized list of unmet space needs

2, 4, 5

Deferred maintenance list

2, 4, 5

Plan for addressing deferred maintenance

2

Security plan for academic, administrative, residential space

9

Reports from committees on space and facilities

2

Library budget, past 5 years

8

Collection development plan

2, 4, 8

List of databases and electronically available resources

4, 8

Copies of agreements with consortia or other libraries

4, 8

Library annual report/Usage statistics

2, 4

Schedules and guides for faculty and students training on libraries

4, 8

Statement of information literacy as student learning outcomes

4, 8

Comparison of collections, access, and use with peer institutions

2, 4, 8

Consultant reports on library collections, access, and services

2, 4, 8

Student surveys of library collections, access, and services

2, 4, 8

Faculty surveys of library collections, access, and services

2, 4, 6, 8

Studies of student information literacy

2, 4, 8

List of departmental liaisons to the library; reports of involvement

6

Report of the faculty library committee

6

Reports of library services for students studying at a distance

4, 8

Technology plan (institutional and/or by unit)

2, 4

Policy on support for faculty, students, classes, management

4, 5, 6

Programs of training for faculty, students, staff on technology

4, 5, 6, 8

Budget requests and funded budgets for technology by year

2

Technology committee reports

2, 4, 5

Reports or statements on how technology supports learning

4, 8

Statistic on usage of technology by unit, in classes, elsewhere

2, 4, 8

Reports on technology to support management information 

5

Surveys of student, faculty, and staff satisfaction

2, 4, 6

TLT Roundtable Minutes and reports

4

Evaluations of management information systems

2, 4, 5

Comparisons with peer institutions

2
Standard 8: Educational Effectiveness Other Standards
Assessment of Student Learning  

Studies of student learning in general education

1, 2, 4

Reports of student learning outcomes, by program

2, 4

Reports of student learning in areas such as service learning, information literacy, study abroad, leadership

1, 2, 4

Assessment Plans

2

Licensure pass rates

2

Summaries of employment information and/or pursuit of higher degree for recent graduates

2

Transcript analyses

2

Internship evaluations by supervisors

2

Student satisfaction surveys

2, 5

Studies of how students are learning at the institution 

2, 5, 6

Documentation of support for assessment (e.g., Teaching/Learning Center, faculty development, small grant support)

2, 6
Retention  

Retention and graduate studies for special categories of students (e.g., transfer students, AHANA students, students studying at a distance, athletes)

4, 9

Graduation rate studies

2, 9
Standard 9: Integrity, Transparency, Public Disclosure Other Standards
Policies and procedures with information on their dissemination  

Academic honesty

4, 5

Privacy rights

 

Academic freedom

4, 5

Non-discrimination and affirmative action

6

Faculty grievances

6

Employee grievances

7

Student grievances

5
(Research policies found in Standard 4)  
Rights and responsibilities of students living in university 6
Information on use and effectiveness of the above policies 2, 8
Documentation of availability of each element listed in Standard 10  
Editorial policy for publications, websites, electronic information  
Catalogues: undergraduate, graduate, summer, continuing  4, 5
Review of website information 1, 4, 5
Recruitment publications 4, 5
Electronic publications: videos, CDs, websites 4, 5
Policy on public access to institutional information 7
Recruitment materials (publications, letters, phone protocols) 5
Notice of availability of institutional information, including audited financial statement 7
Documentation for information in publications regarding student placement rates, program excellence, faculty and student achievement, learning outcomes 4, 8
Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Twitter Instagram