Research Guides: *Chemistry: Find Articles

On this page you'll find the databases we recommend for articles on Chemistry topics. Depending on your specific project, you may find certain resources more relevant that others.

Recommended Chemistry Databases

A-Z List of Databases
This is the full list of MCPHS's databases - you can browse alphabetically, or search by subject or database title.

SciFinderⁿ
Search scholarly literature, find patents, and more in this easy-to-use chemistry database. Find reaction information. Search with words or with a chemical's structure. Full-text available. You will need to Register for a personal account . Then, use the library's link for SciFinderⁿ, log in with your MCPHS username and password, and sign in with your personal SciFinderⁿ account.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. Limited full-text available. [Free to MCPHS users download mobile app for your mobile device.]
Medline (via Ovid)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Bibliographic database of over 21 million citations to the literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences, biomedicine, and health care; International in scope; Abstracts included in 75% of the records; (mid 1960's+) Hint: Search both Embase and Medline to improve drug topic results. No additional username or password needed unless you want to save a search! Also available through PubMed.

Additional Databases and Websites for Finding Articles

PubMed (MCPHS link)
PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Center (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.
Embase
Embase (the Excerpta Medica database) is known for its extensive coverage of drug and biomedical literature; selective coverage of dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, and psychology; emphasis on Evidence Based Medicine; medical devices. Most Medline records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well over 5 million records not covered on Medline.
Science (Gale in Context)
Features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, delivering integrated content through 150+ comprehensive reference sets. Features: More than 22,000 topic overviews; 7,000 biographies; 1.5 million periodical articles from noted publications like Science Weekly, Science News and The Science Teacher; 16,000 images and videos; 170+ detailed experiments; 8,100 biographies; Two dictionaries.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect has thousands of journals and books on a range of science topics. MCPHS has access to the majority of the journals and some of the books. You can find information about health sciences, biology, chemistry, and physics, and more. You can also find some content about humanities and social sciences.

American Chemical Society Publications
The American Chemical Society publishes nearly 50 peer-reviewed journals.
Royal Society of Chemistry
The Royal Society of Chemistry published more than 40 peer-reviewed journals. Some articles are designated Open Acccess and are freely available.

Open Access Journals and Articles

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals
A comprehensive source of scholarly and scientific open access resources. The DOAJ contains nearly 190,000 articles and 10,000 journals covering a broad range of scientific disciplines including general, organic, and analytical chemistry.
MDPI Open Access Journals Platform
The Mulitidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute publishes over 120 peer-reviewed open access e-journals.

Need to Find an Article?

Practice Getting from a Citation to a Full-Text Article
Librarian-on-Your-Shoulder Tutorial

Trust It or Trash It?

Remember to Ask Yourself:

Trust It or Trash It

Database Tutorials

SciFinder Tutorials
This is a link to SciFinder training videos on Structure Searching, Reaction Searching, Reference Searching, and Polymer Searching.
Scopus Tutorials
This is a link to Scopus training videos on Performing a Document Search, Reviewing Search Results, Reviewing Documents, Browsing and Analyzing Journals, Using the Personalized Features, Author and Affiliation Searching, and Cited Reference Searching.

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Connect Google Scholar and the MCPHS Libraries to get to the full-text articles you find. Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!

Set Up Google Scholar & MCPHS Libraries:

Click on Settings in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
Choose Library Links on the left, search for MCPHS.
Select MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS).
Click the blue Save button.
That's it!

Next time you're searching, look for the MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS). link next to each search result.

Don't see it? Click on more underneath the result.

*Chemistry

A Second Password

PDF vs. Get Full Text