Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Smart Search: Tutorial & Demonstration

Step-by-Step: Getting to an Academic/Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Article (with screenshots)

So you need to find academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed article(s). These are the steps to get from your initial search results in MCPHS Smart Search to articles that might do what you need:

1) Double-Check Your Access
When you're looking at the search results page, if you see a yellow bar at the top that says "Welcome Guest. MCPHS member? Log in for full-access" then click & log in with your MCPHS username and password.

To ensure that you have full-access to research content, be sure to click the yellow bar at the top of the page that reads "Welcome Guest. MCPHS member? Log in for full-access". You will be brought to a separate page where you can enter your MCPHS login information.

2) Refine Your Results 
The great thing about Smart Search is you get all sorts of information from a variety of sources! But if you already know a bit about the topic and just need academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed article(s), then tell Smart Search to just show you those by clicking on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed).

Smart Search provides limits that will enable you to refine your search results. If you know that you require academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed article(s) for your assignment, you can limit your results to only show those that are Scholarly (Peer Review) Journals by clicking the option found on the left-hand side of the screen.

3) Get the Article 
Since we have articles from a wide variety of journals, databases and publishers (which are all set up slight differently), sometimes there are different looking links and sometimes it takes a couple extra clicks for you to get there. You'll probably see one or all of these:

Whatever the link calls itself, it's always listed here in the Search Results:

The link to get to the full article may look slightly different depending on the publisher, but it's always located immediately underneath the short description of each result.

and here after you click on the Article Page:

If you click the title of an article, you'll go to the Article Page, which has more information about the article. You'll always find a link for the full article on the upper left-hand side of the page.

and in either case, start by clicking on the first link option.

When you click on  you'll find yourself here:

When you click on Get Full Text (MCPHS) you'll find yourself on a page that works to connect you to the full article several ways. Start with the Get It Online option, then try Search for More.., and lastly use the Not Available at MCPHS - Request It link.

  • When there's a link under Get It Online click on it. (If there are multiple, click on the first one.)  
  • If there are no links there, use the link under Search for More... to see if it's available for free through Google Scholar.
  • If that does work, use the link under Not available at MCPHS - Request It to request the article through Interlibrary Loan. We'll work to get you an electronic copy in a few business days.

4) It's Not Working 

  • If you're trying to get to an ebook in the MCPHS catalog, make sure you click on Full text (MCPHS users only) link on the search results page.
    For ebooks select the Full text (MCPHS users only) link on the Search Results Page
  • If you get to this page and something's acting strange, click the Get Help - Report a Problem link so that we can work on fixing it!
    On the Get Full Text (MCPHS) page, if you experience broken or non-functioning links, be sure to report the problem through Get Help.
  • Try using the Journal Search (from the Library homepage) to search for a known item - when you already have the citation and need to full article.
     
  • Then, contact the Reference Desk for assistance with getting to the article. 

Step-by-Step: Getting to an Academic/Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Article (text only)

So you need to find academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed article(s). These are the steps to get from your initial search results in MCPHS Smart Search to articles that might do what you need:

1) Double-Check Your Access
When you're looking at the search results page, if you see a yellow bar at the top that says "Welcome Guest. MCPHS member? Log in for full-access" then click & log in with your MCPHS username and password.

2) Refine Your Results 
The great thing about Smart Search is you get all sorts of information from a variety of sources! But if you already know a bit about the topic and just need academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed article(s), then tell Smart Search to just show you those by clicking on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed).

3) Get the Article 
Since we have articles from a wide variety of journals, databases and publishers (which are all set up slight differently), sometimes there are different looking links and sometimes it takes a couple extra clicks for you to get there. You'll probably see one or all of these:

Linked Full Text
PDF Full Text
Get it from [publisher]
Get Full Text (MCPHS)

Whatever the link calls itself, it's always listed at the bottom of each result in the Search Results, and on the top left side of the Article Page

And in either case, start by clicking on the first link option.

When you click on Get Full Text (MCPHS) you'll find yourself on a page that works to connect you to the full article. You'll see these options:

#1 Get It Online
When there's a link under Get It Online click on it. (If there are multiple, click on the first one.)

#2 Search for More...
If there are no links there, use the link under Search for More... to see if it's available for free through Google Scholar.

#3 Not available at MCPHS? - Request it
If that does work, use the link under Not available at MCPHS - Request It to request the article through Interlibrary Loan. We'll work to get you an electronic copy in a few business days.

4) It's Not Working 

  • If you're trying to get to an ebook in the MCPHS catalog, make sure you click on Full text (MCPHS users only) link on the search results page.
     
  • If you get to this page and something's acting strange, click the Get Help - Report a Problem link so that we can work on fixing it!
     
  • Try using the Journal Search (from the Library homepage) to search for a known item - when you already have the citation and need to full article.
     
  • Then, contact the Reference Desk for assistance with getting to the article. 

 

Step-by-Step: Using a citation to get to an article in Smart Search

Sometimes you have an article citation from somewhere else, but you still need to full article. Here's how to get it in Smart Search:

1) Type (or copy & paste) the article title into the main search box on the Library homepage.

2) Click search.

3) Now that you're looking at search results in MCPHS Smart Search, if you see a yellow bar at the top that says "Welcome Guest. MCPHS member? Log in for full-access" then click & log in with your MCPHS username and password.

4) Scroll until you find the article, then click on the title.

Not seeing it? Try these:

  • On the dropdown to the left of the search box, switch to title and search again.
  • If there's a subtitle (a phrase after ":" in the title) delete that phrase and search again.
  • Switch to Advanced Search, and add the author in the second search box.
  • If none of those work, try searching using the citation in Find a Journal. The steps are here. 

5) Check that the information about the article matches the citation you have.

6) Get the article by clicking on link in the top left side of the article page. You'll see one or more of these:

Linked Full Text
PDF Full Text
Get it From [a publisher]
Get Full Text (MCPHS)

When you click on Get Full Text (MCPHS) you'll find yourself on a page that works to connect you to the full article. You'll see these options:

#1 Get It Online
When there's a link under Get It Online click on it. (If there are multiple, click on the first one.)

#2 Search for More...
If there are no links there, use the link under Search for More... to see if it's available for free through Google Scholar.

#3 Not available at MCPHS? - Request it
If that does work, use the link under Not available at MCPHS - Request It to request the article through Interlibrary Loan. We'll work to get you an electronic copy in a few business days.

 

Step-by-Step: Using Find a Journal to Get to an Article

If you've tried to search by article title with no luck, try starting your search from Find a Journal:

1) If you're already in MCPHS Smart Search, go to the top of the page and click Find a Journal.

2) Type (or copy & paste) the journal title and click search.

3) If you see more than one result, look at the Full Text Access options, and click on the first one that includes the date of your article.

4) On the publication details page that opens, click on the year and then the volume and issue of your article (the citation will include this information).

5) Scroll until you see your article, then get the article using the link provided.

Practice: Finding an Article

One of the first things you probably need to do is find scholarly articles. Use this interactive tutorial to practice getting to an article through the Library using a citation:

Get from a Citation to a Full-Text Article

Demonstration: Basic Keyword Searching in MCPHS Smart Search

Keyword Searching in MCPHS Smart Search
(opens in a new window)

Connect Google Scholar and the Library

Connect Google Scholar and the MCPHS Libraries to get to the full-text articles you find. Don't skip or pay for articles - check the Library first!

"Get Full Text (MCPHS)" links appear for Google Scholar results.

 

Set Up Google Scholar & MCPHS Libraries:

  1. Click on Settings in the Google Scholar menu - usually in the top left or right corner.
  2. Choose Library Links on the left, search for MCPHS.
  3. Select MCPHS - Get Full Text (MCPHS) from the list of results.
  4. Click the blue Save button.
  5. That's it!

Next time you're searching, look for the Get Full Text (MCPHS) link next to each search result.

Don't see it? Click on more underneath the result. 

Connect with the Library via Social Media: Facebook Twitter Instagram