Skip to Main Content
MCPHS Library Logo

EndNote: Getting Started

Learn to set up and use EndNote 7.

Anatomy of the Library Screen

If you are using EndNote on an Apple computer your display will include the following components: Mode buttons (local library mode, online search mode, integrated library and online search mode); Groups panel; Search panel; Reference list; Layout button; Bibliographic output style; Reference panel. Each panel offers a different tool. The Group panel, for example, offers users different ways to organize their references, similar to folders. The Search panel, on the other hand. provides users with three different search boxes. These are set to "Author" "Year" and "Title". There are other options for searching on the Library Screen. There search boxes that will allow uses to utilize Boolean search operators when searching through pages.You can also select "Match Case" or "Match Words". Do note that when searching, the default setting is set to search the whole library. This setting can be changed along with others. Finally, if you click into your Trash, you will find that you can store unfilled references there.

Note:This image shows EndNote X7. The layout has changed in the current version of EndNote.

Parts of the EndNote Library on a Windows Device

  1. Groups panel
  2. Search panel
  3. Reference list
  4. Reference panel
  5. Bibliographic Output Style

Styles, Filters, and Connection Files

EndNote provides the option to add citation styles, export and import filters, and connection files. You can read more about customizing these preferences in the Little EndNote How-To Book (Endnote X9) or in the Quick Reference Guides for users (EndNote 20).

  1. Select Output Styles, Import Filters, or Connection Files from the Tools menu. Tools menu has Output Styles, Import Filters, and Connection Files options.
    1. (Note: This image is for the Windows version, but the layout is the same on a Mac.)
  2. Review and modify the existing output style, import filter, or connection file to the appropriate setting. If you don’t see what you need then visit the EndNote Downloads page for more options.

EndNote provides the option to add citation styles, export and import filters, and connection files. You can read more about customizing these preferences in the Little EndNote How-To Book (for Endnote X9) or in the Quick Reference Guides for users (Endnote 20) .

  1. Select Output Styles, Import Filters, or Connection Files from the Tools menu. Tools menu has Output Styles, Import Filters, and Connection Files options.
  2. Review and modify the existing output style, import filter, or connection file to the appropriate setting. If you don’t see what you need then visit the EndNote Downloads page for more options.

Find Full Text

Setup and Preferences

Before using the Find Full Text feature in EndNote you'll want to connect your EndNote library to the MCPHS library databases. This will allow EndNote to search your library's databases using the article's citation information. 

1. Select Preferences from the EndNote menu. A small window will appear.

2. Select Find Full Text from the Preferences window. There will be an option to add a URL in a box below the Authenticate with section. This is where you should add the library's proxy address. (Contact the library to get the proxy address). Click Save.

Time saving tip: Check the box - "Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references"- before clicking OK​.

Select Preferenace from the drop-down EndNote menu. Then select Find Full Text. You will be presented with an option to add a URL to the box below the Authenticate with section. This is where you will add the library's proxy address. Be sure to click Save. You can also the check the box titled 'Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references' before selecting 'Ok'.

Using Find Full Text

Now that your preferences are set you can click on the Find Full Text button located in the Groups Panel of the My Groups section. EndNote will automatically search for the PDFs of any references that do not have an attached file. EndNote will also alert you to any references that were unsuccessful in finding a PDF.

Setup and Preferences

Before using the Find Full Text feature in EndNote, you'll want to connect your EndNote library to the MCPHS library databases. This will allow EndNote to search your library's databases using the article's citation information.

  1. In EndNote, click on the Edit menu located on the top menu bar then select the last option - Preferences. Edit menu has an option for Preferences.
  2. Select Find Full Text from the Preferences window. There will be an option to add a URL in the box below the Authenticate with section. This is where you should add the library's proxy address. (Contact the library to get the proxy address). Click OKSelect the Find Full Text option. There will be an option to add a URL to the box below the section titled 'Authenticate with'. Here you will add the library's proxy address. You can also check the box titled 'Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references' to save some time.
  3. Time saving tip: Check the box - "Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references"- before clicking OK​.

Using Find Full Text

Now that your preferences are set you can click on the Find Full Text button located in the Groups Panel of My Groups section. EndNote will automatically search for the PDFs of any references that do not have an attached file. EndNote will also alert you to any references that were unsuccessful in finding a PDF.

Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Instagram