Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials: About Get Full Text (MCPHS)

Tutorials, help pages, and other training materials provided by the vendors and other institutions.

What do Get Full Text (MCPHS) links and buttons do?

What do Get Full-Text and Get Full Text (MCPHS) do?

These buttons and links let you see if we have the full-text of the article you want. You will usually see the button or link right next to each article in your results after you run a search. Sometimes you will only see the button or link if you click on one of your results. PubMed is one of those places. You will see the button in the top right corner in PubMed.

How do I use them?

  • If we have access to the article you are looking for, the "Get Full Text" link will usually take you directly to the article.
  • Some publisher's sites do not allow us to send users directly to their content. In those cases, you will get bar with two links across the top of a blank page. Click on the link in it to open the content in a new window or the link in it to go to the intermediary page.

Go to Your Access Options.  If the page does not display, then open the page in a new window.

Go to Your Access Options.  If the page does not display, then open the page in a new window.

  • If we do not have this article online, under the "Get it immediately through the MCPHS Library's collections" section it will say "MCPHS does not have this item" with further options below. 

Get it immediately through the MCPHS Library's Collections - MCPHS does not have this item.

  • If we have physical copies of a journal, click on "MCPHS has this journal in print. Get catalog record" listed under  "Get it Online". Be sure to note the available years associated with these holdings. In the example below, the library has access to issues of Health Psychology from 01/01/1998 to present EXCEPT volume 35 (issue 10) October 2016.

Find it in Print - MCPHS has this journal in print.  Get catalog record.  01/01/1998 - Present EXCEPT volume 35 (Issue 10) October 2016.  Print item is located in Boston.   ‚Äč 

What do I do if we do not have the article I want?

  • First, try the “Through Google Scholar” link to see if it is available elsewhere online.  Google Scholar will open in a new window

Try searching for a free / OpenAccess version - Through Google Scholar

  • If that does not work, click on “Request from MCPHS Interlibrary Loan" to see if we can get it from another library. It usually takes 3-5 business days to get articles.

Fill out the form and the Library will try to get it for you - Request from MCPHS Interlibrary Loan

  • If you have another issue, you can submit a report by clicking "Report a Problem" at the bottom of the page.

Get Help - Report a Problem

  • You can also click “Research Support” to see all the ways to contact us. We can help you find a library you could visit in person or a different article you can use instead.
Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Facebook Twitter Instagram