Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Apps and Mobile Sites: All Apps and Mobile Sites

Use the apps and sites listed here on your smartphone or your tablet. Choose by operating system (iOS, Android, etc), price, category, device (smartphone versus tablet), or format (native app or mobile site).

Get Apple Apps

Get Android Apps

Disclaimers and Credits

The MCPHS Apps and Mobile Sites guide is an independent informational forum and is not endorsed, sponsored, affiliated with or otherwise authorized by Research in Motion Limited, owner of the BlackBerry trademarks.

iPad and iPhone are registered trademarks of Apple Inc. 

The Android robot is reproduced or modified from work created and shared by Google and used according to terms described in the Creative Commons 3.0 Attribution License 

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine

App & Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Medicine.

This eBook site uses responsive web design, automatically detecting what type of device you are using and adjusting the display to match it.  It offers current versions of medical textbooks available through MCPHS' ebook subscriptions.  Use the link above to access the mobile site.  To download the app for Apple or Android, visit unbound Medicine's site.

  1. Download the app.
  2. Sign in with your free MyAccess username and ID.  
  3. If you do not have a MyAccess username and ID, go to
    • Go to the page to create one .
    • Scroll down and click on Sign In or Create an Account.
    • Click "Don't have a MyAccess account?"
    • Fill out the form. (You may need to scroll down to see the form.)
    • Click Create Account.
  4. At least once every 90 days, you will need to sign into your MyAccess account from MCPHS's AccessMedicine subscription .

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy

Mobile Site.  Free to MCPHS.  All Brands.  All devices. Pharmacy.

This eBook site uses responsive web design, automatically detecting what type of device you are using and adjusting the display to match it. It provides access to current pharmacy textbooks and guides.

AIDSinfo Drug App


AIDSinfo

App. Free. Apple devices, Android devices. Pharmacy.

AIDSinfo includes HIV/AIDS drug information and treatment guidelines for both consumers and health professionals in English and Spanish.

 

Reviews

Android users on Google's app store state that this is a useful app for setting pill reminders but that sometimes the app does not connect to the server and drug information becomes unavailable until the glitch is fixed. 

BioMed Central Journals

BioMed Central

Mobile Site. Free. All brands. All devices. General.

A responsive website for a wide variety of scientific journals, with particular depth in the life sciences, medicine and public health, and biomedicine.

BrowZine

BrowZine

App. Free. iPads, iPhones, iPod touches & Android devices. General.

Browzine is a mobile app for browsing and reading scholarly articles that covers most subject areas, including history and humanities journals, and allows users to save specific articles to read later and bookmark favorite journals. The free-to-anyone version includes only open access journals.  The free-to-MCPHS users version includes journals MCPHS libraries pay for, so make sure to log in with your MCPHS username and password.

Select MCPHS from the list of institutions.  Enter your MCPHS username and password.  OR, for the free-to-anyone version, select Open Access Library.

Calculate by QxMD

Calculate by QxMD

App. Free. Apple devices & Android devices. General.

User-friendly clinical calculator with over 150 formulas that cites the studies or research responsible for the calculator creation.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Mobile at CDC

CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

App & Mobile site. Free. Mobile site for All brands. All devices. App for Apple Devices and Android Devices. General.

The CDC's site uses responsive design. It will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size. You can also download an app for offline access.

Clinical Pharmacology App

Clinical Pharmacology

App. Free to MCPHS. Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.

This app version of the drug reference site contains monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications, herbal and nutritional supplements, and new and experimental drugs.

  1. Skip to step 9 if you already have a personal username and password for Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey.
  2. Go to Clinical Pharmacology.
  3. Click "Register."
  4. Fill out the form, using your MCPHS email address.
  5. Read the "Registered User Agreement" and select "*I have read and understood the Registered User Agreement and agree to be bound by all of its terms."
  6. Look for a confirmation email from clinicalkey@elsevier.com. (Check your Junk folder if you do not see it in your inbox.)
  7. Click on the link in that email to confirm your registration.

9. Go to Google Play or the App store to download the Clinical Pharmacology app. Search for "Elsevier Clinical Pharmacology" on the Apple App store or for "Clinical Pharmacology" on Google Play.

10. Login to the Clinical Pharmacology Mobile App with your Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey username and password.

 

Reviews

Google's Play Store users appreciate the content but call the app glitchy. They mentioned trouble singing in to the app. Android users are mostly satisfied saying "Great App!" However a few remarked they had issues downloading it and the app was glitchy and they were unable to use it. 

DynaMed

App & Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. Mobile site for All brands. All DevicesApp for iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, and Android Devices. Medicine.

DynaMed has quick overviews of different conditions. Summaries include drug information from Micromedex and images. This evidence-based point-of-care tool's website automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. 

To use DynaMed offline, download the app:

1. Go to

2. (If prompted) sign in with your MCPHS username and password.

3. Click the profile icon ("toggle user menu") in the page header.

4. Click "Sign in."

5. Click "Register Now."

6. Follow the prompts.

7. Click the link in the confirmation message sent to your email address.

8. Download the app from Google Play or the Apple App Store. (Search for "DynaMed" to find it.)

9. Sign in with your personal account.

You will need to sign in again every three months to show that you are still part of MCPHS.

EBSCO

EBSCOhost Mobile on a smartphone

Mobile Site. All brands. All devices. EBSCO databases and MCPHS Smart Search now use responsive design. They will automatically adjust to your screen size.

Use from the library's page:

  • Go directly to an EBSCO database.
  • Or, go to the EBSCO menu . 
    1. Sign in with your MCPHS username and password.
    2. Choose the resource you want to use. ​

Epocrates, Inc.

ePocrates

App. Free & full-price. Apple devices & Android devices. Medicine.

General drug information on a large number of medications with information on dosing, adverse effects, indications, and cost. May be used offline.

The base version of Epocrates is free. You will need to pay if you wish to access the additional features in Epocrates Plus.

You will need to create a free account to use the app. Click on "Create a Free Account" after you have downloaded the app and fill out the required information. Use your email address and the password you created to sign in.

For more information contact Erin Wentz (617-732-2810).

Facts & Comparisons Drug Facts Mobile

Facts & Comparisons

Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Pharmacy.

This site uses responsive design. It will adjust to your screen's size, but you may still need to scroll a bit. Its tools include A to Z drug facts, drug facts and comparison, drug interactive facts, the Review of Natural Products, Drug Identifier, MedFacts patient information, off-label drug facts, clinical calculators, black box warnings, medication guides, and orphan drugs.

 

First Aid by American Red Cross

First Aid by American Red Cross

The American Red Cross app is available for Apple iPhone & Android devices and provides quick offline first aid information, including videos and step-by-step instructions.

Gale InfoTrac Databases

Gale/Cengage Learning

Gale databases use responsive design, automatically adjusting to the size of your screen for all brands and devices. 

These include Academic Index, Academic OneFile, and Literature Resource Center. For a full listing, see the Gale site or the library's database listing

*Currently available only to people located in Massachusetts.

IQ Polls

IQ Polls

This mobile site available for all brands and devices allows users to create interactive polls for up to 100 individuals on the free plan and embed those polls in presentations. The information you collect through a public poll may be viewable to other individuals (see the Privacy Policy for more details).

 

JAMA Network

JAMA, Journal of the American Medical Association

Mobile site. Free. Mobile site for All brands. All Devices. General.

The JAMA Network site uses responsive design. It will automatically adjust to your screen's size. Read articles from JAMA and the other journals from the company.

Johns Hopkins Guides

Johns Hopkins Medicine Poc-It Guides

This full-price app version of the John Hopkins guides is available for  Apple devices & Android devices. It may be used offline and offers antibiotic, diabetes, HIV, and psychiatry guides that provide authoritative, evidence-based information to help answer questions and make point-of-care decisions.

JoVE Science Education Databases

JoVE Science Education Database

Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. General.

Watch video demonstrations in General Laboratory Techniques and Basic Cellular and Molecular Biology. 

Note: The following items are not available to MCPHS users: articles in JoVE (The Journal of Visualized Experiments); videos in Essentials of Biology 1: yeast, Drosophilia​, & C. elegans​;  videos in Essentials of Biology 2: Mouse, Zebrafish, and Chick; videos in Essentials of Neuroscience; videos in Essentials of Developmental Biology; and videos in Essentials of Behavioral Science.

Lexicomp

Lexicomp

These drug information apps for Apple devices & Android devices may be used offlline.  Academic/discount group rates are available.

  For more information, 1. login to

2. Click on Academic Discount (The blue button under "Help and Training Resources"). People at MCPHS get special pricing, but still need to pay to use Lexicomp's apps.

3. Scroll down to the app / app collection you want. The discount will be applied automatically. The regular price will be crossed out. The price you need to pay will be listed instead.

4. Select your operating system, using the options under that app / app collection.

5. Click on "Buy Now" using the button under that app / app collection.

6. Click "Proceed to Checkout."

7. Follow the prompts.

MICROMEDEX: mobileMicromedex


mobileMicromedex

App. Free to MCPHS. Apple devices & Android Devices. mobileMicromedex provides drug information, including drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug identification, and drug comparison.

Remember, our license is for academic use only.  Micromedex should not be used for actual patient care.

To download the app for Apple or Android, visit Micromedex.

It is easiest to download the Micromedex app when you also have a desktop or laptop to use. You will need the password listed in the instructions on Micromedex's website. It is difficult to read that information on a mobile device.

  1. On your computer, enter your MCPHS credentials to log in to Micromedex website
  2. Click on the "Micromedex" box on the first page that pops up.
  3. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the Micromedex website. (Upper right corner.)
  4. Scroll to the device you want.
  5. Follow the instructions (including the password) on Micromedex's website for downloading and using that app.

Problems downloading the app?  Contact Customer Support .

NLM Products and Services

National Library of Medicine

This portal contains links to a variety of free NLM tools. Some of the tools use responsive design and will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size.

Select App from the filters menu and click search to get a list of mobile sites and downloadable apps. Some of NLM's databases do not appear in the list but may still work on your mobile device.

  • Drug Information Portal Mobile—provides names, usages, and structures for over 50,000 drugs as well as links to relevant sites, information on the top drug searches by name and category in the past week, and top prescriptions from 2010.

  • MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en Español—easily look up medical information written for patients and consumers.

  • WISER— wireless app for emergency responders in hazardous material accidents . Available for Apple devices, Android Devices, and Windows devices.

Plumb's Veterinary Drugs

Plumbs Veterinary DrugsYou will need a special username and password.

Mobile site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Pharmacy.

This mobile site is the responsive online version of Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook, containing information about specific drugs' uses in treating animal diseases and conditions.

Prevention TaskForce Mobile

Prevention TaskForce

App. Free. Apple devices & Android devices. Other.

This quick preventative care tool retrieves screening and risk assessment recommendations based on a few quick patient traits. You can also browse for specific topics. It may be used offline. From the U.S. Prevention Services Task Force, part of Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Read by QxMD

Read by QxMD logo

App & Mobile Site. Free. Mobile site for all brands, all devices. App for Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.

Receive a newsfeed with articles on the topics you follow. Annotate articles. Create collections of articles you like. QxMD's website uses responsive design; it will automatically adjust to match your screen's size.

Sage Journals

Sage Journals

Mobile site. Free to MCPHS. All brands, all devices. General.

Read articles from journals in many disciplines. SAGE journal sites automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. The publisher uses responsive design.

 

Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy

Sanford Guide

App. Full-price. Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.

The Sanford Guide contains comprehensive information on treatment for infectious diseases, syndromes, and pathogens. The app may be used offline and has the full content of the print edition.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

Mobile Site of the Science Direct database, which includes book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. General.

This site uses responsive design for most content. Most of the page will automatically adjust to your screen size.

Skyscape Clinical Calculator

Skyscape Calculator

App. Free. Additional content available for purchase.. Apple devices & Android smartphones. Medicine.

A comprehensive medical calculator.

Stat!Ref

Stat!Ref

App. Free to MCPHS. App for Adroid devices, iPhone, and iPad.

Search across full-text, evidence-based, and authoritative resources.

FAQs about Stat!Ref Mobile

TRIP Database

Trip Database

Mobile site. Free. All brands. All devices. Medicine.

Evidence-based medicine database that offers extensive filtering options and estimates of bias level for each article. The site automatically adjusts to your screen's size. 

Unbound Medicine

Unbound Medicine

A variety of full-price mobile apps including a medical dictionary, drug guide, laboratory test reference, mobile DSM-V, and point-of-care recommendations.

Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Facebook Twitter Instagram