Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Apps and Mobile Sites: General

Use the apps and sites listed here on your smartphone or your tablet. Choose by operating system (iOS, Android, etc), price, category, device (smartphone versus tablet), or format (native app or mobile site).

Disclaimers and Credits

The MCPHS Apps and Mobile Sites guide is an independent informational forum and is not endorsed, sponsored, affiliated with or otherwise authorized by Research in Motion Limited, owner of the BlackBerry trademarks.

iPad and iPhone are registered trademarks of Apple Inc. 

The Android robot is reproduced or modified from work created and shared by Google and used according to terms described in the Creative Commons 3.0 Attribution License 

BioMed Central Journals

BioMed Central

Mobile Site. Free. All brands. All devices. General.

A responsive website for a wide variety of scientific journals, with particular depth in the life sciences, medicine and public health, and biomedicine.

BrowZine

BrowZine

App. Free. iPads, iPhones, iPod touches & Android devices. General.

Browzine is a mobile app for browsing and reading scholarly articles that covers most subject areas, including history and humanities journals, and allows users to save specific articles to read later and bookmark favorite journals. The free-to-anyone version includes only open access journals.  The free-to-MCPHS users version includes journals MCPHS libraries pay for, so make sure to log in with your MCPHS username and password.

Select MCPHS from the list of institutions.  Enter your MCPHS username and password.  OR, for the free-to-anyone version, select Open Access Library.

Calculate by QxMD

Calculate by QxMD

App. Free. Apple devices & Android devices. General.

User-friendly clinical calculator with over 150 formulas that cites the studies or research responsible for the calculator creation.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Mobile at CDC

CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

App & Mobile site. Free. Mobile site for All brands. All devices. App for Apple Devices and Android Devices. General.

The CDC's site uses responsive design. It will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size. You can also download an app for offline access.

EBSCO

EBSCOhost Mobile on a smartphone

Mobile Site. All brands. All devices. EBSCO databases and MCPHS Smart Search now use responsive design. They will automatically adjust to your screen size.

Use from the library's page:

  • Go directly to an EBSCO database.
  • Or, go to the EBSCO menu . 
    1. Sign in with your MCPHS username and password.
    2. Choose the resource you want to use. ​

Gale InfoTrac Databases

Gale/Cengage Learning

Gale databases use responsive design, automatically adjusting to the size of your screen for all brands and devices. 

These include Academic Index, Academic OneFile, and Literature Resource Center. For a full listing, see the Gale site or the library's database listing

*Currently available only to people located in Massachusetts.

JAMA Network

JAMA, Journal of the American Medical Association

Mobile site. Free. Mobile site for All brands. All Devices. General.

The JAMA Network site uses responsive design. It will automatically adjust to your screen's size. Read articles from JAMA and the other journals from the company.

NLM Products and Services

National Library of Medicine

This portal contains links to a variety of free NLM tools. Some of the tools use responsive design and will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size.

Select App from the filters menu and click search to get a list of mobile sites and downloadable apps. Some of NLM's databases do not appear in the list but may still work on your mobile device.

  • Drug Information Portal Mobile—provides names, usages, and structures for over 50,000 drugs as well as links to relevant sites, information on the top drug searches by name and category in the past week, and top prescriptions from 2010.

  • MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en Español—easily look up medical information written for patients and consumers.

  • WISER— wireless app for emergency responders in hazardous material accidents . Available for Apple devices, Android Devices, and Windows devices.

Prevention TaskForce Mobile

Prevention TaskForce

App. Free. Apple devices & Android devices. Other.

This quick preventative care tool retrieves screening and risk assessment recommendations based on a few quick patient traits. You can also browse for specific topics. It may be used offline. From the U.S. Prevention Services Task Force, part of Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Sage Journals

Sage Journals

Mobile site. Free to MCPHS. All brands, all devices. General.

Read articles from journals in many disciplines. SAGE journal sites automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. The publisher uses responsive design.

 

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

Mobile Site of the Science Direct database, which includes book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. General.

This site uses responsive design for most content. Most of the page will automatically adjust to your screen size.

Stat!Ref

Stat!Ref

App. Free to MCPHS. App for Adroid devices, iPhone, and iPad.

Search across full-text, evidence-based, and authoritative resources.

FAQs about Stat!Ref Mobile

TRIP Database

Trip Database

Mobile site. Free. All brands. All devices. Medicine.

Evidence-based medicine database that offers extensive filtering options and estimates of bias level for each article. The site automatically adjusts to your screen's size. 

Unbound Medicine

Unbound Medicine

A variety of full-price mobile apps including a medical dictionary, drug guide, laboratory test reference, mobile DSM-V, and point-of-care recommendations.

Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Facebook Twitter Instagram