Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Apps and Mobile Sites: Other Operating Systems

Use the apps and sites listed here on your smartphone or your tablet. Choose by operating system (iOS, Android, etc), price, category, device (smartphone versus tablet), or format (native app or mobile site).

Disclaimers and Credits

The MCPHS Apps and Mobile Sites guide is an independent informational forum and is not endorsed, sponsored, affiliated with or otherwise authorized by Research in Motion Limited, owner of the BlackBerry trademarks.

iPad and iPhone are registered trademarks of Apple Inc. 

The Android robot is reproduced or modified from work created and shared by Google and used according to terms described in the Creative Commons 3.0 Attribution License 

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine

App & Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Medicine.

This eBook site uses responsive web design, automatically detecting what type of device you are using and adjusting the display to match it.  It offers current versions of medical textbooks available through MCPHS' ebook subscriptions.  Use the link above to access the mobile site.  To download the app for Apple or Android, visit unbound Medicine's site.

  1. Download the app.
  2. Sign in with your free MyAccess username and ID.  
  3. If you do not have a MyAccess username and ID, go to
    • Go to the page to create one .
    • Scroll down and click on Sign In or Create an Account.
    • Click "Don't have a MyAccess account?"
    • Fill out the form. (You may need to scroll down to see the form.)
    • Click Create Account.
  4. At least once every 90 days, you will need to sign into your MyAccess account from MCPHS's AccessMedicine subscription .

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy

Mobile Site.  Free to MCPHS.  All Brands.  All devices. Pharmacy.

This eBook site uses responsive web design, automatically detecting what type of device you are using and adjusting the display to match it. It provides access to current pharmacy textbooks and guides.

BioMed Central Journals

BioMed Central

Mobile Site. Free. All brands. All devices. General.

A responsive website for a wide variety of scientific journals, with particular depth in the life sciences, medicine and public health, and biomedicine.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Mobile at CDC

CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

App & Mobile site. Free. Mobile site for All brands. All devices. App for Apple Devices and Android Devices. General.

The CDC's site uses responsive design. It will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size. You can also download an app for offline access.

DynaMed

App & Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. Mobile site for All brands. All DevicesApp for iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, and Android Devices. Medicine.

DynaMed has quick overviews of different conditions. Summaries include drug information from Micromedex and images. This evidence-based point-of-care tool's website automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. 

To use DynaMed offline, download the app:

1. Go to

2. (If prompted) sign in with your MCPHS username and password.

3. Click the profile icon ("toggle user menu") in the page header.

4. Click "Sign in."

5. Click "Register Now."

6. Follow the prompts.

7. Click the link in the confirmation message sent to your email address.

8. Download the app from Google Play or the Apple App Store. (Search for "DynaMed" to find it.)

9. Sign in with your personal account.

You will need to sign in again every three months to show that you are still part of MCPHS.

EBSCO

EBSCOhost Mobile on a smartphone

Mobile Site. All brands. All devices. EBSCO databases and MCPHS Smart Search now use responsive design. They will automatically adjust to your screen size.

Use from the library's page:

  • Go directly to an EBSCO database.
  • Or, go to the EBSCO menu . 
    1. Sign in with your MCPHS username and password.
    2. Choose the resource you want to use. ​

Facts & Comparisons Drug Facts Mobile

Facts & Comparisons

Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Pharmacy.

This site uses responsive design. It will adjust to your screen's size, but you may still need to scroll a bit. Its tools include A to Z drug facts, drug facts and comparison, drug interactive facts, the Review of Natural Products, Drug Identifier, MedFacts patient information, off-label drug facts, clinical calculators, black box warnings, medication guides, and orphan drugs.

 

Gale InfoTrac Databases

Gale/Cengage Learning

Gale databases use responsive design, automatically adjusting to the size of your screen for all brands and devices. 

These include Academic Index, Academic OneFile, and Literature Resource Center. For a full listing, see the Gale site or the library's database listing

*Currently available only to people located in Massachusetts.

IQ Polls

IQ Polls

This mobile site available for all brands and devices allows users to create interactive polls for up to 100 individuals on the free plan and embed those polls in presentations. The information you collect through a public poll may be viewable to other individuals (see the Privacy Policy for more details).

 

JAMA Network

JAMA, Journal of the American Medical Association

Mobile site. Free. Mobile site for All brands. All Devices. General.

The JAMA Network site uses responsive design. It will automatically adjust to your screen's size. Read articles from JAMA and the other journals from the company.

Johns Hopkins Guides

Johns Hopkins Medicine Poc-It Guides

This full-price app version of the John Hopkins guides is available for  Apple devices & Android devices. It may be used offline and offers antibiotic, diabetes, HIV, and psychiatry guides that provide authoritative, evidence-based information to help answer questions and make point-of-care decisions.

MICROMEDEX: mobileMicromedex


mobileMicromedex

App. Free to MCPHS. Apple devices & Android Devices. mobileMicromedex provides drug information, including drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug identification, and drug comparison.

Remember, our license is for academic use only.  Micromedex should not be used for actual patient care.

To download the app for Apple or Android, visit Micromedex.

It is easiest to download the Micromedex app when you also have a desktop or laptop to use. You will need the password listed in the instructions on Micromedex's website. It is difficult to read that information on a mobile device.

  1. On your computer, enter your MCPHS credentials to log in to Micromedex website
  2. Click on the "Micromedex" box on the first page that pops up.
  3. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the Micromedex website. (Upper right corner.)
  4. Scroll to the device you want.
  5. Follow the instructions (including the password) on Micromedex's website for downloading and using that app.

Problems downloading the app?  Contact Customer Support .

NLM Products and Services

National Library of Medicine

This portal contains links to a variety of free NLM tools. Some of the tools use responsive design and will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size.

Select App from the filters menu and click search to get a list of mobile sites and downloadable apps. Some of NLM's databases do not appear in the list but may still work on your mobile device.

  • Drug Information Portal Mobile—provides names, usages, and structures for over 50,000 drugs as well as links to relevant sites, information on the top drug searches by name and category in the past week, and top prescriptions from 2010.

  • MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en Español—easily look up medical information written for patients and consumers.

  • WISER— wireless app for emergency responders in hazardous material accidents . Available for Apple devices, Android Devices, and Windows devices.

PharmacyLibrary

American Pharmacists' Association Pharmacy Library

PharmacyLibrary's website automatically adjusts to fit your screen on all devices and provides an online reference library of pharmacy handbooks.

Use the library's link OR sign in with your personal account at:

2. Click "Sign into Your Personal Account / Register." 

3. Click "Create an online account."

4. Follow the prompts.

Plumb's Veterinary Drugs

Plumbs Veterinary DrugsYou will need a special username and password.

Mobile site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Pharmacy.

This mobile site is the responsive online version of Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook, containing information about specific drugs' uses in treating animal diseases and conditions.

Read by QxMD

Read by QxMD logo

App & Mobile Site. Free. Mobile site for all brands, all devices. App for Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.

Receive a newsfeed with articles on the topics you follow. Annotate articles. Create collections of articles you like. QxMD's website uses responsive design; it will automatically adjust to match your screen's size.

Sage Journals

Sage Journals

Mobile site. Free to MCPHS. All brands, all devices. General.

Read articles from journals in many disciplines. SAGE journal sites automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. The publisher uses responsive design.

 

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

Mobile Site of the Science Direct database, which includes book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. General.

This site uses responsive design for most content. Most of the page will automatically adjust to your screen size.

TRIP Database

Trip Database

Mobile site. Free. All brands. All devices. Medicine.

Evidence-based medicine database that offers extensive filtering options and estimates of bias level for each article. The site automatically adjusts to your screen's size. 

Unbound Medicine

Unbound Medicine

A variety of full-price mobile apps including a medical dictionary, drug guide, laboratory test reference, mobile DSM-V, and point-of-care recommendations.

Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Facebook Twitter Instagram