Skip to Main Content
MCPHS Library Logo

Apps and Mobile Sites: Smartphone

Use the apps and sites listed here on your smartphone or your tablet. Choose by operating system (iOS, Android, etc), price, category, device (smartphone versus tablet), or format (native app or mobile site).

Disclaimers and Credits

iPad and iPhone are registered trademarks of Apple Inc. 

The Android robot is reproduced or modified from work created and shared by Google and used according to terms described in the Creative Commons 3.0 Attribution License 

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine

App & Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Medicine.

This eBook site uses responsive web design, automatically detecting what type of device you are using and adjusting the display to match it.  It offers current versions of medical textbooks available through MCPHS' ebook subscriptions.  Use the link above to access the mobile site.  To download the app for Apple or Android, visit unbound Medicine's site.

  1. Download the app.
  2. Sign in with your free MyAccess username and ID.  
  3. If you do not have a MyAccess username and ID, go to
    • Go to the page to create one .
    • Scroll down and click on Sign In or Create an Account.
    • Click "Don't have a MyAccess account?"
    • Fill out the form. (You may need to scroll down to see the form.)
    • Click Create Account.
  4. At least once every 90 days, you will need to sign into your MyAccess account from MCPHS's AccessMedicine subscription .

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy

Mobile Site.  Free to MCPHS.  All Brands.  All devices. Pharmacy.

This eBook site uses responsive web design, automatically detecting what type of device you are using and adjusting the display to match it. It provides access to current pharmacy textbooks and guides.

AIDSinfo Drug App


AIDSinfo

App. Free. Apple devices, Android devices. Pharmacy.

AIDSinfo includes HIV/AIDS drug information and treatment guidelines for both consumers and health professionals in English and Spanish.

 

Reviews

Android users on Google's app store state that this is a useful app for setting pill reminders but that sometimes the app does not connect to the server and drug information becomes unavailable until the glitch is fixed. 

BioMed Central Journals

BioMed Central

Mobile Site. Free. All brands. All devices. General.

A responsive website for a wide variety of scientific journals, with particular depth in the life sciences, medicine and public health, and biomedicine.

BrowZine

BrowZine

App. Free. iPads, iPhones, iPod touches & Android devices. General.

Browzine is a mobile app for browsing and reading scholarly articles that covers most subject areas, including history and humanities journals, and allows users to save specific articles to read later and bookmark favorite journals. The free-to-anyone version includes only open access journals.  The free-to-MCPHS users version includes journals MCPHS libraries pay for, so make sure to log in with your MCPHS username and password.

Select MCPHS from the list of institutions.  Enter your MCPHS username and password.  OR, for the free-to-anyone version, select Open Access Library.

Calculate by QxMD

Calculate by QxMD

App. Free. Apple devices & Android devices. General.

User-friendly clinical calculator with over 150 formulas that cites the studies or research responsible for the calculator creation.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Mobile at CDC

CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

App & Mobile site. Free. Mobile site for All brands. All devices. App for Apple Devices and Android Devices. General.

The CDC's site uses responsive design. It will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size. You can also download an app for offline access.

Clinical Pharmacology App

Clinical Pharmacology

App. This app will be retired in December, 2023. The vendor is working to develop a new app to replace it. Free to MCPHS. Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.

This app version of the drug reference site contains monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications, herbal and nutritional supplements, and new and experimental drugs.

  1. Skip to step 9 if you already have a personal username and password for Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey.
  2. Go to Clinical Pharmacology.
  3. Click "Register."
  4. Fill out the form, using your MCPHS email address.
  5. Read the "Registered User Agreement" and select "*I have read and understood the Registered User Agreement and agree to be bound by all of its terms."
  6. Look for a confirmation email from clinicalkey@elsevier.com. (Check your Junk folder if you do not see it in your inbox.)
  7. Click on the link in that email to confirm your registration.

9. Go to Google Play or the App store to download the Clinical Pharmacology app. Search for "Elsevier Clinical Pharmacology" on the Apple App store or for "Clinical Pharmacology" on Google Play.

10. Login to the Clinical Pharmacology Mobile App with your Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey username and password.

 

Reviews

Google's Play Store users appreciate the content but call the app glitchy. They mentioned trouble singing in to the app. Android users are mostly satisfied saying "Great App!" However a few remarked they had issues downloading it and the app was glitchy and they were unable to use it. 

ColorNote Notepad Notes

App. Free. In App Purchases for premium features. Android. Phones, Tablets, Computers. Operating system varies by device. Notetaking.

Calendar Calendar. Sticky Notes. Checklist.

Features / Uses

  • Color-code your notes using different background colors
  • 2 types: Basic text notes (best for short notes, I believe) or checklists
  • Tap to mark off / unmark items on a checklist
  • Can re-sort the checklist to put the open items first and the completed items last
  • Can make a note into a "Sticky Notes" that always displays
  • Can share notes with others
  • Option to password-protect notes
  • Can search your notes
  • Several ways to sort your notes (but you cannot specify a note-by-note order - it's only pre-built sorting options, not your priority order. Closest option is to sort by reminder time.)
  • (Optional) Set reminder notifications on notes
  • (Optional) Add notes to a calendar
  • (Paid only) Sync and backup online
  • Want to volunteer? Help translate the app into additional languages.

Limitations

  • Parts of the service require internet access
  • People using Grammarly or using autocorrect on some devices may need to turn those settings off.
  • The Google Play site notes that the option to login via Facebook is currently not working. The FAQs on the developer’s site state that the issue was fixed on August 31, 2023.

Supports Available

  • Detailed FAQs on the developer’s website
  •  Email to contact the developer

DynaMed

App & Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. Mobile site for All brands. All DevicesApp for iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, and Android Devices. Medicine.

DynaMed has quick overviews of different conditions. Summaries include drug information from Micromedex and images. This evidence-based point-of-care tool's website automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. 

To use DynaMed offline, download the app:

1. Go to

2. (If prompted) sign in with your MCPHS username and password.

3. Click the profile icon ("toggle user menu") in the page header.

4. Click "Sign in."

5. Click "Register Now."

6. Follow the prompts.

7. Click the link in the confirmation message sent to your email address.

8. Download the app from Google Play or the Apple App Store. (Search for "DynaMed" to find it.)

9. Sign in with your personal account.

You will need to sign in again every three months to show that you are still part of MCPHS.

EBSCO

EBSCOhost Mobile on a smartphone

Mobile Site. All brands. All devices. EBSCO databases and MCPHS Smart Search now use responsive design. They will automatically adjust to your screen size.

Use from the library's page:

  • Go directly to an EBSCO database.
  • Or, go to the EBSCO menu . 
    1. Sign in with your MCPHS username and password.
    2. Choose the resource you want to use. ​

Epocrates, Inc.

ePocrates

App. Free & full-price. Apple devices & Android devices. Medicine.

General drug information on a large number of medications with information on dosing, adverse effects, indications, and cost. May be used offline.

The base version of Epocrates is free. You will need to pay if you wish to access the additional features in Epocrates Plus.

You will need to create a free account to use the app. Click on "Create a Free Account" after you have downloaded the app and fill out the required information. Use your email address and the password you created to sign in.

For more information contact Erin Wentz (617-732-2810).

First Aid by American Red Cross

First Aid by American Red Cross

The American Red Cross app is available for Apple iPhone & Android devices and provides quick offline first aid information, including videos and step-by-step instructions.

Gale InfoTrac Databases

Gale/Cengage Learning

Gale databases use responsive design, automatically adjusting to the size of your screen for all brands and devices. 

These include Academic Index, Academic OneFile, and Literature Resource Center. For a full listing, see the Gale site or the library's database listing

*Currently available only to people located in Massachusetts.

Glean Notes

App . Free 30-day trial. About $130 per year personal subscription. Android, iOS, Mac, Windows, Chromebooks. Phones, Tablets, Computer. Computer program with supplemental phone / tablet apps. At least Android 7.0 (but they recommend Android 10 or higher). At least iOS 12.0 (but they recommend iOS 13 or higher). "Latest version" of Chrome. (Older versions may still work, but the company does not guarantee it.). "Latest version" of Microsoft Edge. (Versions 80 and newer may still work, but the company does not guarantee it.). Notetaking.

Notetaking. Mashups.

Features / Uses

  • Records audio
  • Each phrase is visually represented by a bar, not by text.
  • Add “Review” icons, notes, and tasks to mark important points.
  • Add Headings to divide your notes into chunks
  • Use the definition button to look up a word. The system will add a brief definition from Wikipedia.
  • Add images or slides
  • Listen to any part of the recording. Access the entire recording or the audio associated with a specific note, icon, or task.
  • Can speed up or slow down the audio
  • Copy your notes to your computer’s clipboard.
  • Print your notes and the accompanying slides and images
  • Access a list of all your tasks. Tasks can be from multiple recordings (“events.”)
  • Search within your notes. Notes can be from multiple recordings (“events”)
  • Sync between your computer and your phone
  • Can organize recordings into “collections” 
  • Set a timer to help you study your notes

Limitations

  • Not cheap
  • Most of the features are available on the desktop version. The app is a limited companion tool.
  • You can record offline, but it requires internet access to interact with the recording
  • The developer recommends that you do not use private mode, incognito mode, or a similar option. Your notes will disappear when you close the browser if they have not fully synced to the cloud.
  • The developer’s FAQs note that the product does not fully follow the latest Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.
  • According to the FAQs, people who use Macs need to use the browser if they want to record a Zoom meeting.
  • Copying your notes only copies text (including the Wikipedia definitions). The “Important” or “Review” icons will not appear unless you added a note to that icon.
  • No built-in text-to-speech option for your own notes.
  • You can only add one set of slides per “event.” You will need to create a new “event” if you want to save a second set of slides.
  • The timer does not make any sound and the visual indication that the time has ended is easy to miss.

Supports Available

  • FAQs on website
  • Tutorials on website
  • Contact Us form on the website
  • Email the developer
  • Developer is responsive to app reviews

IQ Polls

IQ Polls

This mobile site available for all brands and devices allows users to create interactive polls for up to 100 individuals on the free plan and embed those polls in presentations. The information you collect through a public poll may be viewable to other individuals (see the Privacy Policy for more details).

 

JAMA Network

JAMA, Journal of the American Medical Association

Mobile site. Free. Mobile site for All brands. All Devices. General.

The JAMA Network site uses responsive design. It will automatically adjust to your screen's size. Read articles from JAMA and the other journals from the company.

Johns Hopkins Guides

Johns Hopkins Medicine Poc-It Guides

This full-price app version of the John Hopkins guides is available for  Apple devices & Android devices. It may be used offline and offers antibiotic, diabetes, HIV, and psychiatry guides that provide authoritative, evidence-based information to help answer questions and make point-of-care decisions.

JoVE Science Education Databases

JoVE Science Education Database

Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. General.

Watch video demonstrations in General Laboratory Techniques and Basic Cellular and Molecular Biology. 

Note: The following items are not available to MCPHS users: articles in JoVE (The Journal of Visualized Experiments); videos in Essentials of Biology 1: yeast, Drosophilia​, & C. elegans​;  videos in Essentials of Biology 2: Mouse, Zebrafish, and Chick; videos in Essentials of Neuroscience; videos in Essentials of Developmental Biology; and videos in Essentials of Behavioral Science.

Just Press Record

App . Full Price (Under $10). iOS. Phones, Tablets, Computers. At least iOS 14.0. At least MacOS 12.0. Notetaking.

Audiorecording. Audiotranscription.

Features / Uses

  • App navigation works with VoiceOver
  • Speech-to-text
  • Search within the notes
  • Use many languages
  • Edit notes
  • Edit audio files
  • Sync across devices
  • Use Dark Mode

Limitations

  • May need Apple iCloud to process some files

Supports Available

  • App Support page on Zendesk has FAQs
  • Use the Zendesk help form on the website
  • Contact the developer via social media

Lexicomp*

Lexicomp

These drug information apps for Apple devices & Android devices may be used offlline.  Academic/discount group rates are available to students.

  For more information, 1. login to

2. Click on Academic Discount (The blue button under "Help and Training Resources"). Students at MCPHS get special pricing, but still need to pay to use Lexicomp's apps.

3. Click on the link to the web store.

4. Select "Student or Resident" as your role..

5. Set your country and select your profession.

6. Confirm your choices.

7. Choose the product you want. The discounted price for each product will be listed next to it.

8. Choose how long you want to access that product.

9. Click "Add to Cart."

10. Follow the prompts.

11. Wolters Kluwer now requires documentation of your status as a student.

MICROMEDEX: mobileMicromedex


mobileMicromedex

App. Free to MCPHS. Apple devices & Android Devices. mobileMicromedex provides drug information, including drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug identification, and drug comparison.

Remember, our license is for academic use only.  Micromedex should not be used for actual patient care.

To download the app for Apple or Android, visit Micromedex.

It is easiest to download the Micromedex app when you also have a desktop or laptop to use. You will need the password listed in the instructions on Micromedex's website. It is difficult to read that information on a mobile device.

  1. On your computer, enter your MCPHS credentials to log in to Micromedex website
  2. Click on the "Micromedex" box on the first page that pops up.
  3. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the Micromedex website. (Upper right corner.)
  4. Click "Micromedex Native Mobile Apps."
  5. Scroll to the device you want.
  6. Follow the instructions (including the password) on Micromedex's website for downloading and using that app.

Problems downloading the app?  Contact Customer Support .

Microsoft OneNote

App . Free if you already use OneNote. In-App Purchases. OneNote costs more than $50 per year. Notetaking. Android, Apple, Windows. Phones, Tablets, Computers. At least Android 9.0. At least iOS 15.0. At least Windows 10.

Notebook. Sticky Notes.

Features / Uses

  • Type, draw, or speak your notes
  • Designed for mixing and matching different kinds of content
  • Designed for lengthy notes
  • Share content with others and co-edit content
  • May be familiar since it is built into Microsoft 365 suite at MCPHS
  • Supports several languages, including Arabic and Vietnamese
  • Microsoft has a whole section of their website dedicated to accessibility features in OneNote  
  • Can convert handwritten notes to typed notes

Limitations

  • Parts of the service require internet access
  • Some features are not available on some devices
  • Several Android users have reported issues with syncing recently
  • People have reported that the Android version does not work well with the option to speak your notes.
  • Microsoft is such a big company that it might be overwhelming to find the answer to your question

Supports Available

  • Microsoft has extensive support pages for their products
  • Chat with support or contact Microsoft through other means for additional help

MindMapping - MindMeister

App . Free with in-app purchases. Personal subscription (under $10 per month) or pro subscription (under $15 per month) for unlimited mindmaps and extra features. Business subscription for additional features (under $20 per month). Discounts for students and educators. Android, iOS, Mac, Windows, Linux. Phones, Tablets, Computers (via the browser). At least Android 5.0. At least iOS 15. At least Chrome 85. At least Firefox 78. At least Opera 73. At least Microsoft Edge 87. At least Safari 13. Notetaking.

Mindmapping.

Features / Uses

  • Up to 3 mindmaps in the free version. Will need to subscribe to add more mindmaps.
  • (Optional): Use a template to save time
  • Type ideas to add to your mindmap
  • Add links, images, videos, or files
  • Show relationships between different ideas (think critically about the content)
  • Import text files or files from some other mindmapping tools
  • Add colors and icons
  • Drag and drop parts of your mindmap to another part of the screen
  • Sync across devices
  • Collaborate with others on the same mindmap
  • Export as text in outline format
  • Export as PDF or image (personal subscription version)
  • Export files as Microsoft Word or Microsoft PowerPoint (Pro subscription version)
  • Print mindmaps (subscription versions)

Limitations

  • Free version only allows 3 mindmaps
  • If you get a trial of the paid version, you have to cancel it at the end of the week. If you do not cancel it, they will assume you want to keep the paid version and will start charging you.
  • Requires internet access to sync
  • The vendor's website has a complicated structure. You may have trouble finding some of the support options.

Supports Available

  • Help Center on website
  • Help option in (subscription) app menu
  • Video tutorials on website
  • Training on website
  • FAQs on website
  • User community
  • Email the developer
  • Contact Us form (for sales) on website
  • Developer has been responsive to app reviews in Google Play and the App Store

Mindnode

App . Free. Under $5 (monthly subscription). Under $20 (yearly subscription). iOS, Mac. Phones, Tablets. At least iOS 15.0. At least MacOS 12.0. Notetaking.

Mindmapping. Checklists.

Features / Uses

  • Create and edit mindmaps
  • Import and export content in several file formats
  • Use any of 15 supported languages, including Chinese and Korean
  • Add searchable tags to different parts of your mind map (subscription version only)
  • Use the mouse, touchscreen, or keyboard shortcuts to add onto your mind map
  • Add icons ("stickers"), emojis, or photos to different parts of your mind map (subscription version only)
  • Add links to websites or links to files stored on your device (subscription version only. In the free version, you can type a URL, but it will just be text.)
  • Add progress markers to turn your mind map into a checklist (subscription version only)
  • Click and drag to reorganize parts of your mind map
  • Temporarily hide parts of your mind map
  • Turn your mind map into an outline
  • Create an outline and turn it into a mind map (subscription version only)
  • Use Dark Mode (subscription version only)

Limitations

  • Data is processed in several different countries
  • If you get a trial of the paid version, you have to cancel it by the end of the second week. If you do not cancel it, they will assume that you want to keep the paid version and will start charging you.
  • Currently no option for live collaboration with others
  • Search box on the support site is difficult to use on a phone

Supports Available

  • User Guide
  • Support center on website
  • Blog
  • Email the developer
  • Contact the developer via social media

NLM Products and Services

National Library of Medicine

This portal contains links to a variety of free NLM tools. Some of the tools use responsive design and will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size.

Select App from the filters menu and click search to get a list of mobile sites and downloadable apps. Some of NLM's databases do not appear in the list but may still work on your mobile device.

  • Drug Information Portal Mobile—provides names, usages, and structures for over 50,000 drugs as well as links to relevant sites, information on the top drug searches by name and category in the past week, and top prescriptions from 2010.

  • MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en Español—easily look up medical information written for patients and consumers.

  • WISER— wireless app for emergency responders in hazardous material accidents . Available for Apple devices, Android Devices, and Windows devices.

Notebook - Notes, Journal


App . Free. In-app purchases. No in-app ads. Android, iOS, Mac, Windows, Linux. Phones, Tablets, Computers. Android operating system varies by device. At least iOS 13. Notetaking.

Notebook. Checklists.

Features / Uses

  • Type, talk, or write / draw
  • Scan, paste, or attach images or documents
  • Rich text editor so you can format your text and add highlights, underlines, etc.
  • Add reminders
  • Stack sticky notes to organize into projects / themes
  • Move content from one note / document to another
  • Sort and shift notes around however you need
  • Search within notes - (at least on IOS, you can even search within the audio notes)
  • Collaborate with others. Only one person can edit at a time.
  • Can password-protect notes
  • Can use fingerprint to unlock notes
  • Data is encrypted during storage
  • Has a "Night Mode" option to reduce eyestrain
  • Supports several languages, including Arabic and Vietnamese

Limitations

  • Features differ slightly from operating system to operating system

Supports Available

  • Zoho has an extensive support website
  • FAQs on website
  • Email Zoho Corporation
  • Developer is responsive to app reviews

Notepad - simple notes

App . Free (with banner ads). Android. Phones. At least Android 5.0. Notetaking.

Notetaking. Sticky Notes.

Features / Uses

  • Type and edit unlimited notes
  • Organize your notes into folders
  • Use read mode or edit mode
  • Search within your notes Undo changes
  • Use lined or unlined display
  • Back up your notes online
  • Import .csv files or export your notes as .csv files
  • Add sticky notes
  • Password-protect your notes or use finger or face recognition protection
  • Use the option to temporarily opt out of ads
  • Use Dark Mode

Limitations

  • Appears to be created and supported by a single developer
  • Developer's site has little content

Supports Available

  • Email the developer
  • Help button in the app
  • Developer is responsive to app reviews on Google Play

Notes Writer - Take Good Notes

App . Free. In-app purchases (under $10). Paid Pro version has more features (under $10). iOS. Phones, Tablets, Computers. Optimized for iPad. At least iOS 14.2. At least macOS11 and an Apple M1 chip. Notetaking.

Notebooks. Notetaking. Annotated Documents.

Features / Uses

  • Create notebooks or projects
  • Add folders and subfolders
  • Create and format a text document 
  • Scan a document
  • Insert an image
  • Add handwritten notes
  • Add typed notes
  • Dictate notes
  • Search within your notes or search and replace text
  • Change font and background colors
  • Highlight
  • Use templates
  • Use night mode
  • Share notes in several file formats
  • Write in multiple languages
  • Get Chat GPT-powered editing suggestions

Limitations

  • Free version only allows 2 notebooks

Supports Available

  • Help Center on website for FAQs, User Guide, and video tutorials
  • Interact with the developer’s social media
  • Email the developer
  • Use the Help form on the website.
     

NoteToDo. Notes. To do list.

App . Free (with ads). In-app purchases (under $30). Android. Phones. At least Android 5.0. Notetaking.

Notes. Checklist.

Features / Uses

  • Type brief notes
  • Create checklists
  • Change the font color
  • Add reminders
  • Text your notes to others
  • Search your notes
  • A widget, not an app
  • Has a dark theme

Limitations

  • The developer's website still uses http even though https has been the internet standard for several years
  • Limited support available
  • Appears to be created and supported by a single developer

Supports Available

  • Email the developer
  • The developer is responsive to app reviews in Google Play

Otter Voice Meeting Notes (for English)

App . Free base with in-app purchases. Additional features with a paid monthly (between $10 and $20, depending on operating system) or annual (between $90 and $100) PRO account. Additional features with a paid Small & Medium Business plan. Android, iOS, Mac, Windows, Linux. Phones, Tablets, Computers (via the browser). At least Android 5.0. At least iOS 13. At least Chrome 67 (if accessing via the browser). At least Firefox 59 (if accessing via the browser). At least Safari 15 (if accessing vie the browser). At least Microsoft Edge 88 (if accessing via the browser). Notetaking.

Autotranscription.

Features / Uses

  • Transcribes up to 300 minutes per month with a max of 30 minutes at a time
  • Transcripts include punctuation and capitalization.
  • Transcripts do not include filler words
  • Identifies speakers (after you edit enough transcripts for it to recognize voices and match them with names)
  • Automatically identifies top highlights from the meeting
  • Automatically includes slides shared during the meeting
  • Highlight, edit, and copy notes. Can insert images and a limited number of pre-recorded videos and audio files.
  • Search by keyword
  • Share notes with others
  • Export as audio and text files. With PRO, can export as additional file types
  • Has a deleted items folder in case you delete something by accident. Files are only stored there temporarily.
  • Otter.ai integrates with Zoom, Google Meet, and Microsoft Teams
  • Designed for accessibility

Limitations

  • Requires internet access
  • Requires either a built-in or an external microphone for your device
  • Does not work when you are using a headset
  • May need to disable sound cancelling tools on your device
  • Requires an Otter.ai account (free unless you want PRO features)
  • For two years in a row, the vendor has reduced how much a person can do.

Supports Available

  • "Help Center" on website
  • Contact form on website
  • Email the developer
  • Contact via several social media platforms
  • Developer responds to app reviews

PharmacyLibrary

American Pharmacists' Association Pharmacy Library

PharmacyLibrary's website automatically adjusts to fit your screen on all devices and provides an online reference library of pharmacy handbooks.

Use the library's link OR sign in with your personal account at:

2. Click "Sign into Your Personal Account / Register." 

3. Click "Create an online account."

4. Follow the prompts.

Plumb's Veterinary Drugs

Plumbs Veterinary DrugsYou will need a special username and password.

Mobile site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Pharmacy.

This mobile site is the responsive online version of Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook, containing information about specific drugs' uses in treating animal diseases and conditions.

Prevention TaskForce Mobile

Prevention TaskForce

App. Free. Apple devices & Android devices. Other.

This quick preventative care tool retrieves screening and risk assessment recommendations based on a few quick patient traits. You can also browse for specific topics. It may be used offline. From the U.S. Prevention Services Task Force, part of Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Read by QxMD

Read by QxMD logo

App & Mobile Site. Free. Mobile site for all brands, all devices. App for Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.

Receive a newsfeed with articles on the topics you follow. Annotate articles. Create collections of articles you like. QxMD's website uses responsive design; it will automatically adjust to match your screen's size.

Sage Journals

Sage Journals

Mobile site. Free to MCPHS. All brands, all devices. General.

Read articles from journals in many disciplines. SAGE journal sites automatically adjusts to fit your screen size. The publisher uses responsive design.

 

Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy

Sanford Guide

App. Full-price. Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.

The Sanford Guide contains comprehensive information on treatment for infectious diseases, syndromes, and pathogens. The app may be used offline and has the full content of the print edition.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

Mobile Site of the Science Direct database, which includes book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. General.

This site uses responsive design for most content. Most of the page will automatically adjust to your screen size.

Skyscape Clinical Calculator

Skyscape Calculator

App. Free. Additional content available for purchase.. Apple devices & Android smartphones. Medicine.

A comprehensive medical calculator.

Squid - Take Notes, Markup PDF

App . Free to download. In app purchases for $1 to $15. Monthly or yearly subscription for premium features. Android. Phones, Tablets, Computers. Designed for larger screens, but can be accessed and used on smaller screens. Operating system varies by device. Notetaking.

Notetaking. Annotated Documents.

Features / Uses

  • Upload or write / draw
  • Erase
  • Move, resize, or reuse content elsewhere
  • Zoom in and out without losing quality / legibility
  • Select from a wide variety of "paper" types. A limited number of "paper" types are free. Others can be purchased. Others are only available as part of a subscription. Some of the options include a calendar, graphing paper, a checklist, and lined notebook paper. 
  • Change the page color
  • Use as slides for a presentation, or print to PDF, PNG, or JPEG
  • Export files in their proprietary format to share notes with others
  • Deleted notes are moved to Trash and can be either restored or permanently deleted from there.

Limitations

  • PDF import is only part of Squid Premium
  • Graph paper is only part of Squid Premium
  • Pricing details are difficult to find
  • Cannot search within notes in the free version.
  • No speech-to-text option

Supports Available

  • FAQs on website
  • Email Steadfast Innovations, LLC
  • Developer is responsive in the Google Play app reviews.

Stat!Ref

Stat!Ref

App. Free to MCPHS. App for Adroid devices, iPhone, and iPad.

Search across full-text, evidence-based, and authoritative resources.

FAQs about Stat!Ref Mobile

TASK NOTES - Notepad, List Reminder, Voice Typing

App . Free (with ads). In-app purchases (under $10). Android. Phones. At least Android 6.0. Notetaking.

Sticky Notes. Checklist. Calendar.

Features / Uses

  • Type, dictate, paste, or import text files to create notes. (Uses Google's API for speech-to-text)
  • Add links to images, videos, and files
  • Have the notes read aloud (text-to-speech)
  •  9 (according to the website) 16 (according to the Google Play description) ways to sort notes, including by length of note
  • Search within the notes
  • Make notes into Sticky Notes
  • Add reminders to tasks
  • Export notes as text or share via emails
  • Can password-protect notes
  • Integrates with Google Drive
  • Deleted notes go to the Trash file and can be restored

Limitations

  • Requires internet access
  • The developer's website and the description in Google Play differ on some details.
  • Privacy Policy is only three bullet-points long

Supports Available

  • FAQs, Tutorials, and Release Notes on developer’s website
  • Email developer
  • Developer is responsive to app reviews in Google Play.

TRIP Database

Trip Database

Mobile site. Free. All brands. All devices. Medicine.

Evidence-based medicine database that offers extensive filtering options and estimates of bias level for each article. The site automatically adjusts to your screen's size. 

Unbound Medicine

Unbound Medicine

A variety of full-price mobile apps including a medical dictionary, drug guide, laboratory test reference, mobile DSM-V, and point-of-care recommendations.

Voice Notes

App . Free (but uses ads).  Can purchase a separate "Pro" version (for under $10) that does not use ads. Android. Phones, Tablets. At least Android 4.4 with Google Voice (unspecified version. Used to need at least v6.15.24.21) or Google Speech Recognition & Synthesis (unspecified version). Notetaking.

Notes List. Calendar (Integrates with Google Calendar).

Features / Uses

  • Dictate notes using audio (speech-to-text)
  • Play back your notes using text-to-speech to check for the speech-to-text's accuracy
  • Share notes via text
  • Search within notes
  • Integrates with Google Calendar, which allows setting reminders
  • Multi-lingual speech recognition and display options. Includes Arabic, Vietnamese, and Korean.
  • "It can work with the phone screen turned off."

Limitations

  • Designed for short notes
  • Unclear if the navigation controls work with TalkBack or if the speech-to-text/text-to-speech is just for convenience
  • Privacy Policy link goes to their Facebook page. No real privacy policy (or at least no policy that is easy to access.

Supports Available

  • Email the developer
  • Contact via Facebook
  • Developer is responsive in Google Play app reviews

WeNote - Color Notes, To-do, Reminders & Calendar.

App . Free (with ads). In-app purchases (under $40). Android, Apple. The developer anticipates adding an option for Windows soon too. Phones, tablets, Macs. At least Android 4.4. At least iOS 15. At least MacOS 12 and at least an Apple M1 chip. Notetaking.

Notes. Checklist. Sticky Notes. Calendar.

Features / Uses

  • Type, dictate, or handwrite notes
  • Add images
  • Add audio
  • Add color-coded labels
  • Add Sticky Notes
  • Sort in five different ways
  • Create checklists
  • Checklists auto-refresh to put all uncompleted tasks before the completed tasks
  • Add reminders
  • Access a calendar with the associated notes. It is the app's own calendar, not the Google calendar
  • Add a password, PIN, or other security feature
  • Integrates with Google Drive
  • Use several language options, including Chinese and Vietnamese
  • Volunteer translation project to make the app available in more languages

Limitations

  • Tips videos do not include narration
  • The system syncs every two hours plus when you add new notes. It can use a lot of data.
  • The alternative text for the PIN option is not clear. It is simply “hyphen.”

Supports Available

  • Tip pages on the developer's website use videos to demonstrate different features
  • FAQs page on the developer's website
  • Email the developer
  • Developer is responsive to app reviews in Google Play and the App Store
Connect with the MCPHS Libraries via Social Media: Instagram