The MCPHS Apps and Mobile Sites guide is an independent informational forum and is not endorsed, sponsored, affiliated with or otherwise authorized by Research in Motion Limited, owner of the BlackBerry trademarks.
iPad and iPhone are registered trademarks of Apple Inc.
The Android robot is reproduced or modified from work created and shared by Google and used according to terms described in the Creative Commons 3.0 Attribution License
App & Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. All brands. All devices. Medicine.
This eBook site uses responsive web design, automatically detecting what type of device you are using and adjusting the display to match it. It offers current versions of medical textbooks available through MCPHS' ebook subscriptions. Use the link above to access the mobile site. To download the app for Apple or Android, visit unbound Medicine's site.
App. Free. Apple devices, Android devices. Pharmacy.
AIDSinfo includes HIV/AIDS drug information and treatment guidelines for both consumers and health professionals in English and Spanish.
Android users on Google's app store state that this is a useful app for setting pill reminders but that sometimes the app does not connect to the server and drug information becomes unavailable until the glitch is fixed.
App. Free. iPads, iPhones, iPod touches & Android devices. General.
Browzine is a mobile app for browsing and reading scholarly articles that covers most subject areas, including history and humanities journals, and allows users to save specific articles to read later and bookmark favorite journals. The free-to-anyone version includes only open access journals. The free-to-MCPHS users version includes journals MCPHS libraries pay for, so make sure to log in with your MCPHS username and password.
Select MCPHS from the list of institutions. Enter your MCPHS username and password. OR, for the free-to-anyone version, select Open Access Library.
App. Free to MCPHS. Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.
This app version of the drug reference site contains monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications, herbal and nutritional supplements, and new and experimental drugs.
9. Go to Google Play or the App store to download the Clinical Pharmacology app. Search for "Elsevier Clinical Pharmacology" on the Apple App store or for "Clinical Pharmacology" on Google Play.
10. Login to the Clinical Pharmacology Mobile App with your Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey username and password.
Google's Play Store users appreciate the content but call the app glitchy. They mentioned trouble singing in to the app. Android users are mostly satisfied saying "Great App!" However a few remarked they had issues downloading it and the app was glitchy and they were unable to use it.
App & Mobile Site. Free to MCPHS. Mobile site for All brands. All Devices. App for iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, and Android Devices. Medicine.
DynaMed has quick overviews of different conditions. Summaries include drug information from Micromedex and images. This evidence-based point-of-care tool's website automatically adjusts to fit your screen size.
To use DynaMed offline, download the app:
1. Go to
2. (If prompted) sign in with your MCPHS username and password.
3. Click the profile icon ("toggle user menu") in the page header.
4. Click "Sign in."
5. Click "Register Now."
6. Follow the prompts.
7. Click the link in the confirmation message sent to your email address.
8. Download the app from Google Play or the Apple App Store. (Search for "DynaMed" to find it.)
9. Sign in with your personal account.
You will need to sign in again every three months to show that you are still part of MCPHS.
App. Free & full-price. Apple devices & Android devices. Medicine.
General drug information on a large number of medications with information on dosing, adverse effects, indications, and cost. May be used offline.
The base version of Epocrates is free. You will need to pay if you wish to access the additional features in Epocrates Plus.
You will need to create a free account to use the app. Click on "Create a Free Account" after you have downloaded the app and fill out the required information. Use your email address and the password you created to sign in.
For more information contact Erin Wentz (617-732-2810).
This full-price app version of the John Hopkins guides is available for Apple devices & Android devices. It may be used offline and offers antibiotic, diabetes, HIV, and psychiatry guides that provide authoritative, evidence-based information to help answer questions and make point-of-care decisions.
These drug information apps for Apple devices & Android devices may be used offlline. Academic/discount group rates are available.
For more information, 1. login to
2. Click on Academic Discount (The blue button under "Help and Training Resources"). People at MCPHS get special pricing, but still need to pay to use Lexicomp's apps.
3. Scroll down to the app / app collection you want. The discount will be applied automatically. The regular price will be crossed out. The price you need to pay will be listed instead.
4. Select your operating system, using the options under that app / app collection.
5. Click on "Buy Now" using the button under that app / app collection.
6. Click "Proceed to Checkout."
7. Follow the prompts.
App. Free to MCPHS. Apple devices & Android Devices. mobileMicromedex provides drug information, including drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug identification, and drug comparison.
Remember, our license is for academic use only. Micromedex should not be used for actual patient care.
To download the app for Apple or Android, visit Micromedex.
It is easiest to download the Micromedex app when you also have a desktop or laptop to use. You will need the password listed in the instructions on Micromedex's website. It is difficult to read that information on a mobile device.
Problems downloading the app? Contact Customer Support .
This portal contains links to a variety of free NLM tools. Some of the tools use responsive design and will automatically adjust to fit your screen's size.
Select App from the filters menu and click search to get a list of mobile sites and downloadable apps. Some of NLM's databases do not appear in the list but may still work on your mobile device.
Drug Information Portal Mobile—provides names, usages, and structures for over 50,000 drugs as well as links to relevant sites, information on the top drug searches by name and category in the past week, and top prescriptions from 2010.
MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en Español—easily look up medical information written for patients and consumers.
WISER— wireless app for emergency responders in hazardous material accidents . Available for Apple devices, Android Devices, and Windows devices.
App. Free. Apple devices & Android devices. Other.
This quick preventative care tool retrieves screening and risk assessment recommendations based on a few quick patient traits. You can also browse for specific topics. It may be used offline. From the U.S. Prevention Services Task Force, part of Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
App. Full-price. Apple devices and Android devices. Medicine.
The Sanford Guide contains comprehensive information on treatment for infectious diseases, syndromes, and pathogens. The app may be used offline and has the full content of the print edition.