Alumni Access to Library Resources: Genetics

ClinVar is a freely accessible, public archive of reports of the relationships among human variations and phenotypes, with supporting evidence. ClinVar accepts submissions from researchers reporting variants found in patient samples, assertions made regarding their clinical significance, information about the submitter, and other supporting data. The alleles described in submissions are then mapped to reference sequences, and reported according to the HGVS standard.

Search for electronic theses and dissertations from UK institutions. Register for a free account to be able to download the full text of many of those dissertations. Some dissertations are not yet available as full text. EThOS is still unavailable after a serious ransomware attack in late 2023, and we do not know when EThOS will be available again.

The NCBI Gene database provides detailed information for known and predicted genes (in humans and other species) defined by nucleotide sequence or map position. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.

"Citations, some with abstracts or tables of contents, to literature on ethics and public policy issues in genetics from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals." From the Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University. The database has not been updated since 2011.

The Genetic Testing Registry (GTR®) provides a central location for voluntary submission of genetic test information by providers. The scope includes the test's purpose, methodology, validity, evidence of the test's usefulness, and laboratory contacts and credentials.

Access scholarly articles, patents, and book chapters on many topics through links in the Google Scholar search results pages. You can read the full-text of some of these items.
To use Google Scholar and find your institutions' links, you will need to set up your Google Scholar preferences: •Go to https://scholar.google.com • Depending on your screen's size, you may need to click More. •Click on Settings. •Click on Library Links on the left. •Type the name of your institution and click the Find button. •Select your institution. •Save your changes.

Search for books, videos, and more from MCPHS. Select MCPHS from the "Limit to:" menu on the search page. Or, select MCPHS from the "Location" list on the results page. Items may only be used while in the MCPHS library. Some items may not be available to alumni at all due to licensing.

MedGen is the US NCBI's portal to information related to Medical Genetics, designed to organize information related to human medical genetics, such as attributes of conditions with a genetic contribution. It can be searched by the name of a condition, or by the clinical features or genes associated with that condition. It includes summary information as well as links to medical and research literature, consumer and patient information, practice guidelines, and genetic tests.

Different molecular databases for sequences, structure, taxonomy, DNA, RNA, genes, proteins, genomes, homology, etc. There is also training and tutorials.

This database has the same content as OMIM (Online Medelian Inheritance in Man) (via NCBI). You do not need to search both places.
A comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.

This database has the same content as OMIM (Online Medelian Inheritance in Man). You do not need to search both places.
A comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.

Find open access dissertations and theses from across the world. Search on OATD and click on the link provided to find the full-text at the author's institution or in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. You may see some results that are not yet available as full-text. Some authors have asked that the full-text of their work only become freely available after a period of time. Unfortunately, OATD does not mark these results in any way. You will only see the message when you click on the link. From OATD.org and hosted by Wake Forest University.

Find open access theses and dissertations on many different subjects. Anyone can read these dissertations and theses without paying a fee. Some authors have asked that the full-text of their work only become freely available after a certain time. You will only see the abstract for those authors' works during that time period. From ProQuest.

PubMed includes Medline. You do not need to search both PubMed and Medline (via Ovid).
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this free database includes access to Medline, citations to other life sciences journals not indexed in Medline (primarily general sciences and chemistry), and links to the molecular biology databases maintained by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Read free articles. Use Get Full Text (MCPHS) for articles that are not free.

RefSeqGene defines genomic sequences to be used as reference standards for well-characterized genes. These sequences serve as a stable foundation for reporting mutations, for establishing conventions for numbering exons and introns, and for defining the coordinates of other variations.

The Centre for Therapeutic Target Validation (CTTV) database search platform brings together information on the relationships between potential drug targets and diseases. The core concept is to identify evidence of an association between a target and disease from various data types, including genome-scale experiments and analysis. The CCTV is a public-private partnership among GlaxoSmithKline, Biogen, the European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI) and the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute.