Alumni Access to Library Resources: Health Sciences

It serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The free database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Search separately for books or journal articles. Also known as the NAL Catalog.

Research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences.The database contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. From Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies and Rutgers University Libraries. (1987-2007)

An international listing of clinical trials. You can find clinical trials by medical condition or geographic location. You can find research centers by medical speciality or geographic location. You can find drug information by FDA drug approvals or new drugs in research.

Current information about clinical research studies. Database provides patients, healthcare professionals, researchers and public with access to publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Find and view studies, learn about clinical research, manage study records, view statistics and download study records for analysis.

ClinVar is a freely accessible, public archive of reports of the relationships among human variations and phenotypes, with supporting evidence. ClinVar accepts submissions from researchers reporting variants found in patient samples, assertions made regarding their clinical significance, information about the submitter, and other supporting data. The alleles described in submissions are then mapped to reference sequences, and reported according to the HGVS standard.

Information on over 8,000 consumer products, allowing users to research products based on chemical ingredients. Can browse or search this database by products, ingredients, or Material Safety Data Sheets to easily locate the desired information. From DeLima Associates. Funded by National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Public Health Service, Department of Health & Human Services. The former Household Products Database was based on CPID data.

Find citations for articles that evaluate the cost-effectiveness of specific interventions. All articles link to PubMed abstracts and include a quality score. You can also see results by cost effectiveness ratio or by utility weight.

MCPHS has access to the public version, not the full version. You will only see the first 100 results.

Search for guidelines for a topic. Filter by the patient's age, clinical area / discipline, type of intervention, or guideline source. Labels indicate if guidelines were based on systematic reviews, ratings of evidence quality, or ratings of evidence strength. Each result links to the original source.

A clinical reference tool that contains articles on over 7000 diseases and disorders written and edited by physicians. Each article is peer-reviewed by physicians and a PharmD before it is published; Also provides practice guidelines, images, & references; Updated regularly. From WebMD.

Search for electronic theses and dissertations from UK institutions. Register for a free account to be able to download the full text of many of those dissertations. Some dissertations are not yet available as full text.

"Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics." From the Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University. The database has not been updated since 2011.

The NCBI Gene database provides detailed information for known and predicted genes (in humans and other species) defined by nucleotide sequence or map position. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.

"Citations, some with abstracts or tables of contents, to literature on ethics and public policy issues in genetics from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals." From the Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University. The database has not been updated since 2011.

The Genetic Testing Registry (GTR®) provides a central location for voluntary submission of genetic test information by providers. The scope includes the test's purpose, methodology, validity, evidence of the test's usefulness, and laboratory contacts and credentials.

Medical information from around the world. Search across all of the World Health Organization's regional databases OR choose to search just for information from a single geographic region: Africa, Eastern Mediterranean, South-East Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Western Pacific (Asia-Pacific). You can search with MeSH or with keywords.

Access scholarly articles, patents, and book chapters on many topics through links in the Google Scholar search results pages. You can read the full-text of some of these items.
To use Google Scholar and find your institutions' links, you will need to set up your Google Scholar preferences: •Go to https://scholar.google.com • Depending on your screen's size, you may need to click More. •Click on Settings. •Click on Library Links on the left. •Type the name of your institution and click the Find button. •Select your institution. •Save your changes.

A tool for identifying, tracking, analyzing, and comparing statistics on hospitals at the national, regional, and state level. Part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). Includes a national database and database of states.

The primary goal of the Index to Chiropractic Literature is to provide indexing of the peer-reviewed literature produced by chiropractic publishers. Indexes articles in chiropractic journals. From the Chiropractic Library Consortium with funding from the Association of Chiropractic Colleges. Some full-text available.

A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. From the National Library of Medicine.

Search for books, videos, and more from MCPHS. Select MCPHS from the "Limit to:" menu on the search page. Or, select MCPHS from the "Location" list on the results page. Items may only be used while in the MCPHS library. Some items may not be available to alumni at all due to licensing.

The Latin American equivalent of Medline, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it's possible to search using English keywords. (1982+)

An annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video, and art developed to be a medical/health humanities resource for use in health/pre-health and liberal arts settings. Produced and maintained by the Hippocrates Project, the multi-disciplinary development laboratory for application of information technologies to medical education at New York University School of Medicine

MedGen is the US NCBI's portal to information related to Medical Genetics, designed to organize information related to human medical genetics, such as attributes of conditions with a genetic contribution. It can be searched by the name of a condition, or by the clinical features or genes associated with that condition. It includes summary information as well as links to medical and research literature, consumer and patient information, practice guidelines, and genetic tests.

Free government research website under the National Library of Medicine, contains Consumer Health information as well as dozens of links to other resources, email notification available, and subject searching as well as papers on specific therapies, diseases, drugs, and more. Includes health information in a variety of languages.

A free, publicly available medical research site; returns results from across the Web, including blogs, wikis, mainstream searches and deep web sources. It searches multiple databases, websites, and resources including commercial databases, medical socities, government resources, patents, and National Institute of Health resources.

Hundreds of case studies in many different areas of science. Faculty members will need to purchase a personal subscription to use these cases. Search or browse by topic or date. Some supplemental teaching resources are freely available. Created by the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science at the University of Buffalo. Managed by the National Science Teachers Association.

Trade name, dosage form, National Drug Code, active ingredients, strength and packaging information for all commercially distributed prescription drugs, as well as a few selected over the counter products. From the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Reports, data, and analysis of National Institute of Health Research activities, including info on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH sponsored research.

An A-Z list of resources from the National Library of Medicine; Includes descriptions and links.

Different molecular databases for sequences, structure, taxonomy, DNA, RNA, genes, proteins, genomes, homology, etc. There is also training and tutorials.

This database has the same content as OMIM (Online Medelian Inheritance in Man) (via NCBI). You do not need to search both places.
A comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.

This database has the same content as OMIM (Online Medelian Inheritance in Man). You do not need to search both places.
A comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.

Find open access dissertations and theses from across the world. Search on OATD and click on the link provided to find the full-text at the author's institution or in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. You may see some results that are not yet available as full-text. Some authors have asked that the full-text of their work only become freely available after a period of time. Unfortunately, OATD does not mark these results in any way. You will only see the message when you click on the link. From OATD.org and hosted by Wake Forest University.

A comprehensive database of information and peer-reviewed summaries about cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics & supportive care, plus clinical trials. Features: drug dictionary, cancer terms dictionary, search for clinical trials. From the National Cancer Institute.

Bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy;a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. Developed by the CEBP (Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy based at The George Institute of Global Health. Maintained by PEDro Partership (Institute for Musculoskeletal Health at the University of Sydney and Sydney Local Health District).

Find open access theses and dissertations on many different subjects. Anyone can read these dissertations and theses without paying a fee. Some authors have asked that the full-text of their work only become freely available after a certain time. You will only see the abstract for those authors' works during that time period. From ProQuest.

General Topics, Health Sciences
Note: Full text from this link limited to free resources for most users!! MCPHS users can use the Find it@MCPHS button to access additional articles.

RefSeqGene defines genomic sequences to be used as reference standards for well-characterized genes. These sequences serve as a stable foundation for reporting mutations, for establishing conventions for numbering exons and introns, and for defining the coordinates of other variations.

SUMSearch lets you search PubMed content to find guidelines, systematic reviews, and other guidelines. Their algorithms present results differently than PubMed, which may make it easier for you to find what you need. You can also use the page to keep up-to-date; in addition to the search box, the page includes feeds from a handful of specific health sources.

The Centre for Therapeutic Target Validation (CTTV) database search platform brings together information on the relationships between potential drug targets and diseases. The core concept is to identify evidence of an association between a target and disease from various data types, including genome-scale experiments and analysis. The CCTV is a public-private partnership among GlaxoSmithKline, Biogen, the European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI) and the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence it also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. Full-text might be available. Registration is free.

View information about medical schools across the globe. Search or browse by country, city, or school name. The directory provides contact information for the school, an overview of the program's requirements, and other helpful notes. It also indicates if the school is still active or if it has closed. Records are available in a variety of languages, but the options change from institution to institution. This database replaces the Avicenna Directory for Medicine. The directory lists only schools that train general medical doctors/physicians. Developed through a partnership between the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) and the Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER).